Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this soup today. I did not use barley or potatoes because i did not have them in my home. But I can say that this vegan soup is AWESOME!!!! I love it!!! Thanks so much for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Best split pea soup I've ever had! I did add more water as it was needed - but it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I skipped the barley, used 1 potato, 2 stalks of celery, and 2 carrots instead. I love how easy this was the make and the flavor of it. I added 1/2 cup of split pea after the 3 hour mark because I wanted a little more texture. Probably need to cook for another 30 minutes and then will turn off the stove. Will definitely make it again and highly recommend this. Great alternative to a typical ham split pea soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Omitted barley and substituted 1/2 cup of brown rice and 1/4 cup of couscous. Also omitted celery because I didn't have any on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Lars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this soup yesterday and it was delicious. I tripled the batch and it's all gone! Between me, my mom and two younger siblings, we ate it all. I substituted olive oil for the vegetable oil, bay seasoning for the bay leaf and did not add barley as we've already been getting enough carbs of that sort via excessive amounts of christmas cookies. :p but anyhoozles, i strongly recommend this recipe. very easy and delicious. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Great vegan spilt pea soup! The barley adds a great touch. When I make it again, I'll probably add a little more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Very Hearty Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was delicious! If you do it in a crock-pot (as I did last night), be sure to cook on high for 3 hours. I added a bit more salt and pureed about 2 cups of the soup. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Instead of vegetable oil, I used canola oil, omitted the barley and instead of parsley I used cilantro. Added a couple more carrots and couple more celery stalks. Yum yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORMA FEHR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is delicious! DEFINITELY follow the advice to use more water (I used about 12 cups--although some say that if they don't add barley, they don't need the extra water. I added the barley so I can't speak to that). I also threw in some veggie bouillon cubes. I appreciate the flexibility of this recipe. I didn't have celery or bay leaves or parsley and it still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States