Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wow! What a coincidence! This is almost exactly my recipe. I'll give it 5 Stars since I already know it's good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlady
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Overall this was pretty good. I have some barley and was looking for a recipe to use it up. I made this without the celery since I am not a huge fan. I also only had a little more than 1/2 a cup of split peas so that is all I put in. I did add a little extra barley though since I had plenty. After an hour of simmering the soup started to burn at the bottom so I had to add some more water (only a cup though... I'm a little sad I did not read the reviews ahead this time). It looked like the split peas and barley were done though, so I added the carrots and just 1 potato thinking they may not get fully cooked without the rest of the soup burning. And I was right. I used only 1/2 teaspoon of parsley because I only had dried and that was enough.I think I may try this again but definitely with MORE WATER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I give it 2 stars for being healthy and economical to make, but it was sooo bland! I even added broth instead of water. However i did have to add water to keep it from burning and getting completely dry. And it took forever to cook. I should've made lentil soup. I am not vegan but I don't eat pork or other meats so I would sure love to find a good split pea recipe. This one just did not do it for me. Revision-(I edited my review and added a star, since my younger son ate 2 bowls as a snack after baseball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is the best soup I have made so far! I usually use 1/2 broth and 1/2 water and that makes it super flavorful! It is so forgiving too. Try it even if don't have all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calirpm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Great recipe... I'm not a fan of split pea soup, but this one I'll make again. I did modify it a little. After sautéing onions, garlic, & bay leaves (used 2), I simmered the peas (left out the barley in this step) in 6 c vegetable broth for an hour. Then added double the spices, veggies as called for, 3 cups water, and medium barley.. Bring back up to a boil, then simmer for an hour. It made the soup hearty with lots of banging flavor. (my bag of peas said they could be ready in 20-30 mins. Sorry I forgot to get the brand.) Happy eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Every adult in my family loved it, and went back for 3rds & 4ths. Only thing I did differently was add a little more salt to my taste, but that is a personal pref. And I did soak the peas overnight, which did shorten the cooking time. It was ready in about 2 1/2 hrs. from start to finish. I had planned to add some chopped ham to the pot after I fed lunch to my vegan son-in-law, but it was so good I didn't want to mess it up. And please ... be sure to add the barley! That is what makes this so hearty and unique. You can't taste it. It just gave the soup a nice "meaty" texture. One daughter said this was her fav dish of all that I make. That says a lot, 'cuz she likes everything I cook. Try it!! You will be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is an excellent, hearty soup. It's easy to make and keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisa Wolf Schrock

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This is an outstanding soup - really delicious and healthy! One of the best soups I have ever made. The spicing is perfect. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I did add some extra water, though. I started with the 7 1/2 cups, but if it looked like it was getting really thick I added a cup of water every now and then while it was simmering. I probably ended up using about 10 cups of water total. So perfect for a chilly evening - thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I made it in the crockpot (just dumped all the ingredients at once and let it cook for 8 hours on low). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic. The only think I would do differently next time is cut the potatoes into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States