Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this soup yesterday and it was delicious. I tripled the batch and it's all gone! Between me, my mom and two younger siblings, we ate it all. I substituted olive oil for the vegetable oil, bay seasoning for the bay leaf and did not add barley as we've already been getting enough carbs of that sort via excessive amounts of christmas cookies. :p but anyhoozles, i strongly recommend this recipe. very easy and delicious. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Great vegan spilt pea soup! The barley adds a great touch. When I make it again, I'll probably add a little more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Very Hearty Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was delicious! If you do it in a crock-pot (as I did last night), be sure to cook on high for 3 hours. I added a bit more salt and pureed about 2 cups of the soup. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Instead of vegetable oil, I used canola oil, omitted the barley and instead of parsley I used cilantro. Added a couple more carrots and couple more celery stalks. Yum yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORMA FEHR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is delicious! DEFINITELY follow the advice to use more water (I used about 12 cups--although some say that if they don't add barley, they don't need the extra water. I added the barley so I can't speak to that). I also threw in some veggie bouillon cubes. I appreciate the flexibility of this recipe. I didn't have celery or bay leaves or parsley and it still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Don't let the term Vegan put you off. This is delicious and perfect for a meatless Monday or Friday in my case.I was looking for a recipe that included both split peas and barley and found this yummy soup. I had to sub poultry seasoning for the thyme, basil and black pepper. And I didn't have any potatoes so added an extra 1/4 cup barley. I like split pea soup a little sweeter so I think I'll add an extra onion next time. And I agree with others, I had to add at least 4 cups more liquid, which I added when necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This soup is so good. I make it quite often. I made slight modifications to it though. I use 4 cups of vegetable broth and 5 cups of water. I dice up the potatoes and carrots and mix them in a bowl with the basil, black pepper and about 1/2 a tablespoon of canola oil and place them in the oven until browned. Then add this to the soup with the remaining ingredients after its been simmering for two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
so tasty and comforting on a cold dreary day. Had to more than double the liquid by the time all was said and done, but I was making a smaller quantity. Used veggie broth and bouillon instead of plain water to add more flavor and doubled the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I am editing an earlier review. The cook time and water measurements are off- I needed to add a lot more water. I am adding stars because after this sat the flavors really developed- we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States