Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Delicious! Based on the reviews, I added about 4 cups more of water in the beginning, as well as the carrots, celery and I doubled seasonings. Added diced potatoes in the last 45 minutes (or so) of cooking. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Tastes OK, a little bland. I ended up adding an extra 1.5 cups of water and it was still too think, like smashed potatoes vs. a thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. My friends and family loved this soup. I did take out the celery. Instead of the salt I used Goya's veggie seasoning and a tablespoon of curry. I must agree with the others that the soup is a thick Super thick but very tasty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Great soup, especially the texture -- I did add more liquid, as suggested. I skipped parsley just cause i didn't have any, and I added a generous pour of balsamic vinegar at the end, because it felt like a flavor was missing (who knows, maybe it was the parsley!). That did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This soup is excellent!! I will make it again for sure. After reading other comments I made this in the crockpot. I followed the recipe exactly except I used 8 cups of vegetable broth instead of water. I also did not put potatoes or parsley in my soup. It was fabulous! You can't beat a great vegan meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Needs more salt, but other than that I really liked this recipe. I used to use a ham bone to season my soup, but I much prefer this healthier option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Wow, so tasty and filling. I left out barley (made it gluten free) and potato (didn't have on hand) it worked out perfectly and I don't think I would add potato next time. I liked the full pea flavor. Only other change was I used Italian seasoning in place of the dried seasonings called for. I imulsified partially to leave a slight chunkyness. I will definetly make again and again. So inexpensive and easy. Mine didn't take as long as recipe called for. Upon sitting it thickened up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE4KYLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Very delicious. We are not vegetarian, so I used chicken broth instead of the water and salt. Added about an additional 3/4 teaspoon of salt and a sprinkle of cayenne. I didn't use barley and forgot to add the parsley, but didn't miss it. Also added some turkey kielbasa. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This was quite good; I did miss the ham I would usually put in split pea soup, but it was still very rich and filling with good flavor without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Used all ingredients except for barley and instead of fresh parsley I used dried. I just threw it all in the crock pot on high. It cooked in about 4 hours. The only thing I added was Bragg's liquid aminos. It was wonderful! The herbs were just right! Thanks for a very yummy recipe! Even my picky eaters liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States