Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made this for 30 people on Good Friday luncheon, everyone was surprised it was vegan, don't need any ham or bacon, the flavor is so good! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecelia Prince

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Madras, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is WONDERFUL! My family really enjoyed this soup. I did find that it needed twice the amount of herbs, as another reviewer suggested, to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this using red lentils instead of split peas. It was good still but the lentils did not have as much flavor as the peas would have, because of that, I did season my bowl with some curry powder and Sriacha and it was pretty good that way. The kids liked it as it was made with no additional seasonings. I cooked it in the slow cooker for about 3 1/2 hours on high. I just threw everything in at once. I will make this again with peas or lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Delicious! Based on the reviews, I added about 4 cups more of water in the beginning, as well as the carrots, celery and I doubled seasonings. Added diced potatoes in the last 45 minutes (or so) of cooking. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Tastes OK, a little bland. I ended up adding an extra 1.5 cups of water and it was still too think, like smashed potatoes vs. a thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. My friends and family loved this soup. I did take out the celery. Instead of the salt I used Goya's veggie seasoning and a tablespoon of curry. I must agree with the others that the soup is a thick Super thick but very tasty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Great soup, especially the texture -- I did add more liquid, as suggested. I skipped parsley just cause i didn't have any, and I added a generous pour of balsamic vinegar at the end, because it felt like a flavor was missing (who knows, maybe it was the parsley!). That did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This soup is excellent!! I will make it again for sure. After reading other comments I made this in the crockpot. I followed the recipe exactly except I used 8 cups of vegetable broth instead of water. I also did not put potatoes or parsley in my soup. It was fabulous! You can't beat a great vegan meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Needs more salt, but other than that I really liked this recipe. I used to use a ham bone to season my soup, but I much prefer this healthier option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Wow, so tasty and filling. I left out barley (made it gluten free) and potato (didn't have on hand) it worked out perfectly and I don't think I would add potato next time. I liked the full pea flavor. Only other change was I used Italian seasoning in place of the dried seasonings called for. I imulsified partially to leave a slight chunkyness. I will definetly make again and again. So inexpensive and easy. Mine didn't take as long as recipe called for. Upon sitting it thickened up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE4KYLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States