Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was good - I agree with one reviewer who said that the barley doesn't mesh well texture-wise with the rest of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I have this cooking in my crockpot and my whole apt smells wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Loved this! I threw everything in the crock pot, omitted oil, and added 2 extra cups of water and a chicken boullion cube. Cooked on high for 4 hours, and then low for 4 more hours. It's fantastic! I've made it once a week for the past 3 weeks, frozen some, and probably eaten a bowl at least once per day. On Weight Watchers, 1 cup is 4 points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Probably the best split pea soup I've had. I used a pressure cooker and cut down on the time to cook it. Still turned out great. I added some crushed red peppers for spice and added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
My husband says this is restaurant quality (with a few suggested variations)!! First, I used olive oil instead of veg. Vegetable broth instead of water and added the herbs (which I doubled) with the peas and barley. Didn't add the salt. After I added the potatoes, etc., I only needed to cook it for another 20-30 minutes. Perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I was concerned that this would come out bland with all that water and no broth what so ever. I threw everything into the slow cooker(no pre-cook or saute) & added about 4 extra cups of water. Let it cook on low for 7 hours. Delicious! We are not vegans but we do eat vegan on occassion. We will make this again. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen-Nay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was really good. Had no fresh parsley so added about an 1/8 of dried but otherwise followed recipe to the T. Needed to add more water as I went along but just kept my eye on it. Loved the barley. Made it a little chewy. I don't think I ever ate barley before. This is a keeper when I want a stick to your ribs dinner. It made a ton to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is a very good recipe...I did however add a little vegetable broth and more water to make the soup a bit thinner and stretch further. I also added vegetarian kielbasa for a little extra something good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This soup was a hit in my family although I did some altering. I omitted the Potatoes and put all the veggies in with the onions to fry. I also soaked the split peas for 4hrs which cut the cooking time down by half. I did use chicken broth (homemade is best) and I added sausages about 2 bratwurst chopped in small pieces). I added extra water so that it wasn't too thick. The barley adds really nice texture to the soup, I don't recommend omitting. I love this recipe, it's definitely going in my favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
The barley's texture just doesn't fit with the creamy texture of cooked peas, not very pleasant to eat. The soup was also a little bland (added an extra 2 cups of water as per other reviews), maybe with no barley, chicken stock and with double the seasoning(except for salt), it would be better but as is it's not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States