Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Loved loved loved this soup!! Changed the recipe a bit, used more garlic, added veggie boullion cubes and 2 cups sliced mushrooms and fresh spinach. Hubby loved it and had NO IDEA he was eating so many veggies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Tasty! I made this in the crockpot, so added additional water. Used chicken boullion, threw in some chardonnay, upped the garlic. Will make again and again! I love how filling this is whils also being truly healthy and nutritious. A great meal for the cooler months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is not a soup; it is a paste. I got scared early on, and added one cup of water. I will not do that next time. Some is going to burn to the bottom, but the extra soak time when you wash dishes is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
very good, and the barley was an excellent addition. I suppose it makes a thick soup, but i've always preferred it when it comes to pea soup. This is the best pea soup i've had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I did not like this soup at all - the flavor was strange - perhaps too much onion or celery??? However, my super picky toddlers ate it all up and my husband thought it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was good - I agree with one reviewer who said that the barley doesn't mesh well texture-wise with the rest of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I have this cooking in my crockpot and my whole apt smells wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Loved this! I threw everything in the crock pot, omitted oil, and added 2 extra cups of water and a chicken boullion cube. Cooked on high for 4 hours, and then low for 4 more hours. It's fantastic! I've made it once a week for the past 3 weeks, frozen some, and probably eaten a bowl at least once per day. On Weight Watchers, 1 cup is 4 points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Probably the best split pea soup I've had. I used a pressure cooker and cut down on the time to cook it. Still turned out great. I added some crushed red peppers for spice and added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
My husband says this is restaurant quality (with a few suggested variations)!! First, I used olive oil instead of veg. Vegetable broth instead of water and added the herbs (which I doubled) with the peas and barley. Didn't add the salt. After I added the potatoes, etc., I only needed to cook it for another 20-30 minutes. Perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States