Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very nice soup, but wow, "very thick" doesn't even begin to describe it! I added maybe double the water and it still came out almost solid. Tasty and easy to make though! I used sweet potato instead of regular potato because that was what I had. Otherwise kept it the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
very good, I added lot's of carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is a great healthy dish. I halved the recipe, omitted the vegetable oil, and used dried parsley equivalent (1 tsp dried herb = 1 tbs fresh). Finally, I threw all of the ingredients into a slow cooker and cooked at low for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I have made this a million times and it always sticks to the bottom of the pan and slightly burns the bottom of the pan. Other recipes don't say to cook for a total of 3 hours. Am I missing something? Its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Yum. This is a 4 and not a 5 because a couple changes had to be made. Like the other reviewers, I added about 12-13 cups of water to the pot, rather than the 7 1/2 cups. I also had to increase the salt and pepper to taste, and added a couple dashes of red chili pepper flakes. After these minor adjustments, the soup was absolutely perfect for a cool fall afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very good recipe. It's quite thick, though, almost like a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I used 4 cups of broth & 4 cups of water; doubled all the spices and used fresh herbs instead of dried, added tbsp. of crushed red pepper, paprika since I love spice. I also used marrow fat peas instead of split peas since that what I had on hand and simmered everything for 4.5-5 hours. I also added red pepper & doubled the carrots. It was hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Excellent soup! I followed the receipe except did not have barley. I added a little cumin seed sauted with the onion and garlic. And added fresh basil, tarragon from my garden. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I boiled the soup for well over the recommended 3 hours and still had some chewy peas. Overall, the recipe was tasty, but did lack that ham flavor that most split pea soups possess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This has come out so delicious each time I make it, although I tweak a few things. First of all, I don't typically have barley lying around, so skip that. Use olive oil instead of veg oil. Vegetable broth instead of water. I think that adds a little more flavor. And dried parsley instead of fresh, which comes out fine. This soup is amazing and especially yummy leftover, although it's so thick that you really need to add quite a bit of water when reheating or you'll have more of a split pea porridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States