Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This soup is fantastic--delicious and very nourishing. I quick-soaked the peas (cooked them in water for 2 hours on high in my Crock Pot) and used a whole bag instead of just two cups. I also used 4 cups of vegetable stock and 3 1/2 cups of water. I omitted the barley and doubled the spices. To cut cooking time, I sauteed ALL of the vegetables together until the onions were glossy, and then added the rest of the ingredients and brought the whole thing to a boil. Then I reduced the heat, covered it, and simmered it for 90 minutes--and it was absolutely perfect. A great recipe and very versatile--thanks, Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I give this recipe. If followed, along with Deborah Sah' suggestions, this is the best pea soup recipe I ever made! Yes, I did have to add a little more water as I cooked it as she suggested. I will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I added quinoi instead of barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Made this last night and it turned out wonderfully! It did not take nearly as long as the recepie states thought, which was a nice surprise. I subed veg. broth for the water which added nice flavor. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
SO GOOD! The best Split Pea Soup I've tasted, very hearty and filling. I modified slightly: left out the barley, used 8 cups of veg broth (more flavor - I like Better Than Bullion) and only used one potato. I've made this twice now, and experimented with consistency. It's good on the chunky side (half blended, half not), but I prefer a pretty smooth texture, so think I'll blend 100% from now on. Keeps well, makes great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I am anything but a Vegan but I made this and it was awesome. I added extra garlic. I think next time I will cut the veggies smaller. It is better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon-Mikel Bailey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this today and it is wonderful. I am only going to give it 4 stars because I did make a change. I added Goya's ham flavoring which really gave it that smoky flavor but NO real ham. I will try without next time, but this was really delicious. I am sure great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very nice soup, but wow, "very thick" doesn't even begin to describe it! I added maybe double the water and it still came out almost solid. Tasty and easy to make though! I used sweet potato instead of regular potato because that was what I had. Otherwise kept it the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
very good, I added lot's of carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is a great healthy dish. I halved the recipe, omitted the vegetable oil, and used dried parsley equivalent (1 tsp dried herb = 1 tbs fresh). Finally, I threw all of the ingredients into a slow cooker and cooked at low for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States