Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Love this one, though it does need a lot more liquid than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This soup is fabulous. Thank you for such a great recipe!! I adjusted ingredients to my family's diet and made it gluten-free by substituting 1/2 cup arborio rice for the barley, 8 chopped green onions for the yellow onion, and I used less fat for sauteing. Otherwise, I used two huge red potatoes rather than russet and added 1/4 t. cayenne with the spices. I started the peas in water in a separate pot while I chopped/sauteed the vegetables because I didn't have three hours for the soup to cook. As I finished chopping/measuring items, I added them to the soup. It was completely done in two hours. Be sure to use lots of water, stir frequently, and turn heat down once the potatoes and rice soften and begin to stick to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Good. Only took about 1 1/2 hrs. altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Very yummy. I made a few adjustments. I omitted the barley (didn't have any), added one large potato, used part vegetable stock & part water, and like others suggested, I added more water. It was absolutely delicious. I will definitely make it again and include the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Followed exactly and even added way more liquid or it would have burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Great recipe. I did have to add more water a couple times during cooking. Added vegetable base to the water to give it a little more flavor. Also used cilantro because I didn't have parsley. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owendale, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I followed some of the other reviewers and made the following adjustments; omitted the barley, as I did not have any, added some chopped ham and a bone, used about 10 cups of water, simmered on the stove for a few hours, and used only one potato. I actually had some leftover parsley, which I added, it gave the soup a wonderful flavor. Very good, next time I'll use Barley and omit the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Fantastic! I only had sweet potatoes, which ended up being a great substitution, raising the savory factor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I like a quick cook soup when I'm making lunch for the week on a Sunday night. I sautéed my onions, celery and garlic together then added the potatoes, carrots, spices, barley and peas and 12 cups of water seasoned with vegan veggie cubes. Brought to a boil and summered for about an hour and 20 minutes and came out perfect! Not too thick not too thin! I did have some sticking but I didn't use a heavy pot so that was probably my downfall. The soup however was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made this for 30 people on Good Friday luncheon, everyone was surprised it was vegan, don't need any ham or bacon, the flavor is so good! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Madras, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States