Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was thick and delicious - a perfect soup for cold winter nights. Even though I cooked it for four hours, the peas were still a little hard; next time I'd cook them for five hours. I'd also leave out the potatoes - they were bland and didn't add anything to the soup. I did, though, add a sweet potato I had lying around, and it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was a very easy soup to make, and it was very hardy. DH and I both really enjoyed the soup. DH had to add a little salt to his, but overall it was a creamy, thick soup that hit the spot. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly for the crockpot and this was a real winner in my house. It's wonderful, flavorful and very filling. The only thing I did differently was to add BOILING water to the vegetables. Also, after about 3 hours, I added another 6 cups of boiling water because the mixture was becoming too thick to stir. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This has been my go to split pea soup recipe for a couple of years. I use vegetable broth instead of water and usually end up using at least 4 cups more broth as the peas, barley and potatoes take on moisture and thicken. This soup is a winner and it's incredibly nutritious as well as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicoGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Great, easy recipe with a delicious outcome. I used a mix of vegetable broth and water...and used probably another 1.5 cups of liquid than the recipe calls for. Also, I added my veggies after about 1.5 hours instead of waiting for 2 hours because I noticed the peas had almost completely broken down (not necessarily a bad thing). Soup was done in 2 hrs. If you want your peas to have more structure, I suggest adding the veggies an hour early. I will definitely make this again. The barley is an awesome touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Great recipe. I used a pressure cooker and it cooked in half the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I added a few extra cups of water, substituted 4 cups of the water for chicken broth, added broccoli and substituted the barley with bulgar. Because of the extra water, it seemed to down out some of the herbs so next time I'll add more and keep the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Alimonos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This soup is DELICIOUS! I keep going back for more. I used 8 cups of water, one vegetable bouillon cube, and slightly less than 2 cups of split peas. I also doubled the thyme and basil and omitted the parsley. Will definitely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Love this one, though it does need a lot more liquid than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This soup is fabulous. Thank you for such a great recipe!! I adjusted ingredients to my family's diet and made it gluten-free by substituting 1/2 cup arborio rice for the barley, 8 chopped green onions for the yellow onion, and I used less fat for sauteing. Otherwise, I used two huge red potatoes rather than russet and added 1/4 t. cayenne with the spices. I started the peas in water in a separate pot while I chopped/sauteed the vegetables because I didn't have three hours for the soup to cook. As I finished chopping/measuring items, I added them to the soup. It was completely done in two hours. Be sure to use lots of water, stir frequently, and turn heat down once the potatoes and rice soften and begin to stick to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States