Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Run, don't walk, to buy the ingredients to make this! This is the BEST soup I've found on this site! I used sweet potato, instead of butternut squash and used a whole can of LITE coconut milk, which reduced the calorie count substantially. As a result, I also upped the amount of water by adding another 1 to 1 1/2 cups and adjusted the amounts of tomato paste, curry, black pepper, and cayenne. Oh, and lastly, since I needed to use them up, I sauteed some portabello mushrooms and threw them in as the soup cooked. WOW! So glad I did, since they were a great addition - I'll add them to the ingredient list when I make this again, and I will definitely make this again. (Did I mention I LOVE this soup?!) I didn't quite understand the reviewer who claimed they had to halve the cayenne pepper amount and it was still too hot. Huh? It only called for a pinch. Anyway, THANKS a MILLION for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I'd give this recipe a 3 as written and a 5 with my changes. I used 3 cups of chicken stock in place of the 2 cups of water, as I found it to be too thickonce cooked. I also used about 3/4 can of coconut milk, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/8 tsp of cayenne and 1/8 cup of fish sauce in addition to the other ingredients. I didn't have any squash on hand, so I used sweet potatoe instead, which I prefer anyway. In the end this turned out perfectly. My 8 yo dd asked for seconds and dh requested that we serve it at our next dinner party. I'd call it a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I generally do not rate a recipe I do not follow completely. I'm reviewing because this recipe seems so versatile. If you do not have everything in your pantry, make this soup anyway! This has a wonderful flavor and I was very apprehensive as I did not have coconut milk. I substituted Soy Milk and Vegetable broth instead of water. I also omited fenugreek seasoning as I'm not familiar with this spice. The soup had a great flavor without any salt. I added mushrooms as other reviewers suggested and I think the squash adds a lot to this dish. Will use this recipe often. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is absolutely my favorite soup EVER! So amazing, I cannot even describe it in words. I agree with the review who said RUN (don't walk) to get the ingredients to make this incredible soup! I made a few changes, but nothing too drastic. I used potatoes instead of squash, fennel seed instead of fenugreek, green lentils instead of red (what I had on hand), and pureed about half the soup at the end for more body. Because of this, I ended up adding about 2 more cups of veg broth, and it was the perfect consistency. I also only used a couple tablespoons of coconut milk because I didn't have low-fat (couldn't justify using so much full-fat!), and it was still very creamy. Absolutely AMAZING lentil soup!! I don't know if I can ever try another because I fear they will all pale in comparison to this. It's top-notch restaurant quality--and SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Excellent. I was looking to recreate a red lentil soup I tried recently, and had no idea where to begin, but this recipe seemed to have the flavors I was looking for. I skipped the fenugreek because I didn't have any, added shredded carrots, yellow potatoes, celery, lime juice, and extra curry, and garnished it with cilantro, toasted coconut, and lime zest. We had it with cubed chicken tonight, but I would definitely consider serving it vegan as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
i loved this soup. it was easy and delicious. i roasted the squash in the oven and then pureed it before adding it to the soup, this made for a delicious, creamy spicy soup! delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliacooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. When I first saw the list of ingredients I knew the soup would taste different from most, but thought it might be good in an exotic sort of way. It isn't. The combination of ingredients make for a very strange tasting concoction. It didn't even smell good while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Very good - very forgiving/flexible, too. I subbed cubed potatoes for squash - delicious. Used garam masala/cilantro powder/cumin powder, and some turmeric powder. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This is delicious! I did add three celery stalks and a carrot, gave it great texture. Instead of coconut milk (I was out, oops) I sub-ed in coconut milk with coconut oil. Worked. The only thing, took about 45 minutes longer to cook than listed (and needed about a cup more water as it simmered down)! Worth the wait though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGOSLAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This is great! It's sweet and feels like Thanksgiving. I doubled the squash since I couldn't find a smaller squash. It worked out great. I did have to cook it for probably 1 hour 15 minutes and add more water. I also added a little cinnamon at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States