Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
As per the recipe, I found it a bit lacking in spice flavor, so I added another Tbl of curry powder while cooking. Result was very good, though more of a stew than soup. Thoroughly enjoyed the result, though and will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I love this recipe - it is one of the few on this site that I make repeatedly. I have made it with squash and sweet potatoes, and both turned out great. This most recent time I added about half a bag of frozen leaf spinach and I added extra ginger, and it was great - I will do that again! We are not vegetarian or vegan, but this is a super hearty vegetarian dish to try if you would like to try doing "meatless Monday" or just eating vegetarian once in a while. It is a thick consistency, but I like that. I serve it over brown rice instead of as a soup. It is also fairly flexible - I have messed up and added too much coconut milk once, and once was out of tomato paste and used some jarred marinera sauce instead, and it still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
As a new vegetarian - this makes me wonder why I ever ate meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Totally delicious, with room for modification. I added mushrooms as other members suggested and they are a welcome addition. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Soooo good. The recipe should call fore more water and/or coconut milk, but this is a phenomenal recipe, especially for Lent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I actually doubled the recipe so I can have left-overs for the entire week . I made the recipe exactly as it was written, but left a few ingredients out mainly due to the fact that I didn't have them on hand. I used extra virgin olive oil instead of peanut oil since my son has a nut allergy, and also left out the Fenugreek because my local farmers market did not have it in stock at the time of my visit, and also left out the Cayenne pepper since i had to make the recipe kid-friendly for my 2 young boys. I misread the recipe as 1TB of Curry as opposed to 1 tsp and was worried that the curry would be to overpowering but it was actually the right amount! My husband who is not a fan of curry (AT ALL) really enjoyed this soup. I never revealed to him that the soup had Curry in it otherwise he wouldn't have been as open to eat it! Keep in mind, the soup thickens up as you cook it, so i found myself having to add more water, and each time having to add a little more salt and tomato paste to get the flavors and color back to where it was. I may just follow what some other reviewers tried,which was to add chicken broth instead. The Cilantro really brightens up this dish and really pulls the whole soup together! It reminds me of something I've eaten at a very high end Thai restaurant in the SF Bay Area. I can't say enough about this dish! I highly recommend!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaChef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I made this exactly the way the recipe was written. For me, this didn't have enough liquid. So, I had to add water and vegan no chicken broth to it so the lentils and squash would cook. I nuked the squash beforehand to make it faster. It became so thick I was afraid the lentils wouldn't cook. In the end, it was delicious and such a vibrant color you knew it just had to be good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I did not have fenugreek seeds so I left them out and I used a sweet potato in place of the squash. This was delicious with a very unique flavour. I would highly recommend it. It was also very easy to make. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
If you like curry, make this dish immediately! It is delicious and so versatile. You can put just about any vegetable in there and it will be wonderful. I followed the recipe pretty much to the letter, but next time I'll add more vegetables. It has a wonderful flavor. I topped it with plain low fat yogurt, which gave it a nice zest. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I used a can of lite coconut milk and some extra water (veggie broth). I skipped cilantro, and this was a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States