Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Just ok. Based on the list of ingredients, I was expecting a very flavorful, exotic soup, but the end result was bland in my opinion. I followed the recipes, no substitutions, except to add about 1 extra cup of water as the amount given didn't seem enough for all these lentils. I found that adding the cilantro at the beginning of the recipe made it lose all its flavor by the end. The soup is tasty enough, I will eat it, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This soup is absolutely delicious! I am confounded by reviews stating that there is a lack of flavor; flavor is what this soup is all about. I followed the recipe almost exactly using butternut squash, but I did use 1 whole can of low fat coconut milk and organic vegetable broth instead of water. I used some fennel seeds as I could not find fenugreek seeds. And I did add a bit more broth to the soup than the recipe calls for. I would say the coconut milk and red lentils are musts. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made some changes to the recipe due to not having everything on hand. I did not fenugreek seeds. I used red curry pasted instead of curry powder, and add cumin as some other reviewers suggested. The smell was wonderful, and this recipe was quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Norman-Dao

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I followed the recipes exactly, including fenugreek seeds. It was pretty good, but I prefer other lentil soups better. I might make it again for a party or something, in that is is good and is unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Nongard

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Really enjoyed this dish. I changed it a little bit because I did not have fenugreek or cilantro. I added lemon juice. I also added chicken and chicken broth instead of the water which I realize goes against the whole vegan thing but I'm not so it's ok. I accidentally used an acorn squash as well which is just what I had and is what is in season around here. Thanks for the great recipe, hope I didn't butcher it too much for the next person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe hands down. I follow the recipe to the tee aside from substituting vegetable broth for the water and using an extra cup so it isn't so thick. A wonderfully flavorful recipe if you love indian spices like my family does. It has been a regular in our rotation of winter soups for over a year! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I thought this was amazing! Thank you for sharing. These were my tweeks only because i didn't have on hand a few of the items: I used Olive instead of Peanut oil, I had no Fenugreek seeds, I used some sun dried tomatoes instead of paste. I will be using this soup recipe often, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
With a little extra water I loved the consistancy of this soup, creamy and smooth, but it really lacked flavor. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and didn't care for it. I doubled the curry powder and added a little more cayenne and some salt and pepper and then it was very tastey. I would recommend making it the day before as it was better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Sorry, but this soup just wasn't for me. I was going to rate 3 stars but since my husband said it was ok I'm giving 4 stars. I used organic chicken broth instead of water, other than that I followed the recipe exactly as is. I don't think I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made this exactly per the recipe except I used sweet potatoes instead of squash (not a huge butternut squash fan), and added a little chopped carrot just to use up what was in the fridge. Delicious!!! We're not even vegan at my house, we just like to try making tasty-sounding things, and this was definitely tasty. The combination of sweet, spicy, toasty, and creamy is just delightful. My local chain grocer was out of fenugreek seeds, but I found them at a little middle eastern grocery store down the street for a GREAT price. My husband was raving about the smell the whole time this was simmering. I had to simmer it about 15 minutes longer than called for, but it turned out great. I sauteed the carrots with the onions and the consistency was perfect at the end. I wish I hadn't lost my immersion blender years ago in a move, because I imagine this would be good blended up a little, but I wasn't about to go through the trouble of dragging out my regular blender. It was perfect as-is anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States