Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Delish. Ok, I modified it to fit our family, but this is one of the top 5 soups I have eaten in my life. I substituted ground coriander for the fenugreek seeds, sweet potato for the squash, curry paste for curry powder and parsley for the cilantro. I also doubled the liquid as I had 2 cups of sweet potato. I have enough to freeze for another day, and everyone cleaned their bowls, including my 2 year old. I served with naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Amazing! Will make again. I used sweet potato instead of squash, I also added a bouillon cube. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was a big hit with the kiddos. I was out of peanut oil so I used coconut oil and a little sesame oil instead. Sub'd fennel for fenugreek and sweet potato for squash since I didn't have them on hand and squash is out of season right now. I had low fat coconut milk so I used the entire can. I still needed 2 cups of water though even with the increase in coconut milk. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very yummy! I was looking for something to use up my half can of coconut milk and when I found this soup, I knew this was it! I had to sub some cubed sweet potatoes for the butternut squash as I had just used up my squash a couple days prior. Used veggie broth instead of water and had to add a bit more during cooking. Left out the fenugreek as I didn't have any (nor have I ever bought them!). Loved this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by katndogs
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Great recipe! I used vegetable broth instead of water, and added carrots and fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe! I doubled it, quadrupled the water (should have gone 1 cup shy though), tripled the curry powder, left out the tomato paste (didn't have any), added a bit of cinnamon. Also added some chopped kale at the end. Tastes just like indian dal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is by far my favorite soup. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a little more liquid. The soup is packed with flavor and so easy to prepare. I have many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was delicious. Even the kids ate it. Next time we will double or triple the recipe. :drool: I want MORE! (We didnt have cilantro or fenugreek)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Just ok. Based on the list of ingredients, I was expecting a very flavorful, exotic soup, but the end result was bland in my opinion. I followed the recipes, no substitutions, except to add about 1 extra cup of water as the amount given didn't seem enough for all these lentils. I found that adding the cilantro at the beginning of the recipe made it lose all its flavor by the end. The soup is tasty enough, I will eat it, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This soup is absolutely delicious! I am confounded by reviews stating that there is a lack of flavor; flavor is what this soup is all about. I followed the recipe almost exactly using butternut squash, but I did use 1 whole can of low fat coconut milk and organic vegetable broth instead of water. I used some fennel seeds as I could not find fenugreek seeds. And I did add a bit more broth to the soup than the recipe calls for. I would say the coconut milk and red lentils are musts. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States