Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Followed the recipe almost exactly, used cilantro from the spice rack rather than fresh. Outstanding soup, kind of thick after it reduces so served it over brown rice and it was very tasty. Very easy to make too, thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
At the end I added a little bit more spice and some sugar to make it more sweet and spicy, but it's a perfect base recipe that you can take and make it to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Loved this soup! And so did my family (including the 1 and 3 year olds) But we had to make a few adjustments. I pre-roasted the squash (since I was also making baby food that day). The lentils needed a much longer cooking time, and had to keep adding water along the way. Since cilantro is such a delicate herb, I added that after the cooking process (as I do when I make Tikka Masala). I also had some fresh mint around, so I added that... yum! It still needed a little something after all was completed according to the recipe - acid. So I juiced one lime and added that in, too (I had doubled the recipe for leftovers... which were even better than the fresh, of course!). Perfect. I will be making this again. There are lots of ways to augment the recipe. I love that it's vegan. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
this soup should be renamed: Thebestsoupintheworld!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent. I used sesame oil because I didn't have any peanut, sauteed cubed chicken thigh fillet before adding the rest, added extra ginger, tumeric and a potato. I also added 2 cups of chicken stock. 30 min was plenty of time, even with potato. I think you could add sweet potato, carrot, spinach, peas, anything really, will try something new next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great Tasting Soup! Highly recommended recipe. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Delish. Ok, I modified it to fit our family, but this is one of the top 5 soups I have eaten in my life. I substituted ground coriander for the fenugreek seeds, sweet potato for the squash, curry paste for curry powder and parsley for the cilantro. I also doubled the liquid as I had 2 cups of sweet potato. I have enough to freeze for another day, and everyone cleaned their bowls, including my 2 year old. I served with naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Amazing! Will make again. I used sweet potato instead of squash, I also added a bouillon cube. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was a big hit with the kiddos. I was out of peanut oil so I used coconut oil and a little sesame oil instead. Sub'd fennel for fenugreek and sweet potato for squash since I didn't have them on hand and squash is out of season right now. I had low fat coconut milk so I used the entire can. I still needed 2 cups of water though even with the increase in coconut milk. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very yummy! I was looking for something to use up my half can of coconut milk and when I found this soup, I knew this was it! I had to sub some cubed sweet potatoes for the butternut squash as I had just used up my squash a couple days prior. Used veggie broth instead of water and had to add a bit more during cooking. Left out the fenugreek as I didn't have any (nor have I ever bought them!). Loved this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States