Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
My whole family loved this recipe. It was so yummy. I may be bias though because I love curry powder. I am by no means vegan, but trying to incorporate "meatless" meals to my family a few nights a week. I think it's important to present my family with different options that are delicious. This one is a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Delicious. I loved the red lentils as they just blend in and have a mild flavor. Even my 6 year old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I have prepared this for family and friends, followed instructions and met with compliments- it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry D Pegg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I would give my adapted version 5 stars. Use veggie stock instead of water. Add more veggies, celery, mushrooms, carrot and red pepper. Use WAY more curry powder, I use a Tbsp of Garam Marsala and Siracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I knew this soup had to be good after reading the reviews. It was! It was easy to make and so flavorful. It will become one of our regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Really good, I puree a little with the hand blender before serving to make it creamier, but not all the way. I've made this a few times, and I use coconut oil instead of peanut. Perfect for this dish and healthy too. I sub sweet potatoes and use more ginger and less curry for my taste. I've never used fenugreek except for lactation tea, so I skip it in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
So delicious! I made it with sweet potatoes instead of butternut, let it thicken, and then served over jasmine rice. Would also be great as a soupier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krstoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I love this soup!!! Even better the next day. I mash mine a bit with a potato masher at the end. I've made it with both butternut squash and sweet potato and didn't notice much difference in the end result. I always use stock instead of water too. I also add carrots and celery with the onion when I sautee. Everyone loves it! I've made it 4 times in the past month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This makes a very rich hearty soup. Made this as written but added some chopped baby bella mushrooms as it cooked ( had these on hand). I used a light touch on the seasonings and will add more next time. I will use light coconut milk next time to reduce calories. Sauteed the onions in a little avocado oil.This is delicious and vegan, a real keeper. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Awesome soup! I used 1 3/4 cups of water because I like a thicker soup and it was perfect... I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States