Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
So delicious! I made it with sweet potatoes instead of butternut, let it thicken, and then served over jasmine rice. Would also be great as a soupier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krstoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I love this soup!!! Even better the next day. I mash mine a bit with a potato masher at the end. I've made it with both butternut squash and sweet potato and didn't notice much difference in the end result. I always use stock instead of water too. I also add carrots and celery with the onion when I sautee. Everyone loves it! I've made it 4 times in the past month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This makes a very rich hearty soup. Made this as written but added some chopped baby bella mushrooms as it cooked ( had these on hand). I used a light touch on the seasonings and will add more next time. I will use light coconut milk next time to reduce calories. Sauteed the onions in a little avocado oil.This is delicious and vegan, a real keeper. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Awesome soup! I used 1 3/4 cups of water because I like a thicker soup and it was perfect... I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I make this recipe (with a few modifications) all the time! It's a favorite and is always met with rave reviews. Here's what I do differently: (1) Once the onion mixture is clear stir in the lentils and continue stirring for a minute or so. This will reduce the cooking time. (2) I use garam masala instead of the curry powder and nutmeg. I add this in with the lentils and stir for another minute before I add the liquid. (3) I use an entire 4 cup container of chicken broth. I add this to the ingredients I've already mentioned and allow the onion/lentil/spice mixture to simmer in it for about an hour while I cook the squash separately. (4) I roast the squash in the oven and scrape it into the soup, adding the tomato paste and coconut milk at the same time. (5) I add small pieces of fresh ginger directly to the soup shortly before serving. The bites of ginger add a wonderful surprise to the soup. It sounds weird, but TRUST ME. I have made this soup this way more than 30 times and often for company. Everyone LOVES it! Don't forget fresh cilantro to garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This soup is fantastic. We made it exactly as is, served it to a group of 20 people and got nothing but rave reviews. Huge hit!! Next time I will add some kale or spinach and up the curry and cayenne a bit, but it's wonderful as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I really was excited when I saw this recipe. This was ok but bland to me. I had to add a ton of salt to bring out the flavor. So much for a healthy recipe. I have no idea how a recipe could have so many spices and still taste like nothing without salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Delicious. I will make this again. I didn't have fenugreek seeds so omitted it. Other than that followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
AMAZING! I agree that it's worth going to the store, right now, to get the ingredients for this! I took other reviewers advice and used a whole can of light coconut milk, some extra broth and then used the immersion blender to smooth it out a little. This is definitely a keeper and going into my list of favorite soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Delicious! I doubled the spices and added a cup of water. It was so tasty and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States