Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Wow! This is such a great soup! I made two modifications: no ginger (my hubby hates ginger), and two fresh tomatoes instead of the paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very good recipe - I followed it as written, but did add an additional cup of water toward the end as it was becoming more stew than soup. It definitely is a keeper of a recipe. I was just given a bottle of ginger juice, and the next time I make this recipe I will sub the juice for the minced ginger. I think it will make the soup smoother in texture and yet keep the taste of the ginger. Thank you Labelchef !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Excellent! I made this last night and all three family members loved it. So healthy and so delicious - how could you not love it? I followed the recipe exactly except I had no Feenugreek seeds - so had to omit that. I also mashed the butternut squash a bit with a handheld masher before serving and sprinkled more fresh cilantro on it when I served it. Awesome recipe - a real keeper - thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This recipe was excellent! I am not a vegetarian, so used chicken broth instead of water. Also used Trader Joe's light coconut milk (the brand does matter). I think those were the only changes that I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This soup is delicious! I did not use cilantro, fenugreek seeds, cayenne paper as I did not have them in my kitchen. Instead of coconut milk I used coconut flakes and hot water mixed in blender. I turned out great! I think it is one of the best soups i have tried! Make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I am not a vegetarian, so I skipped the ginger and fenugreek and used chicken broth instead of water. I also added 2 chopped chorizos. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
My whole family loved this recipe. It was so yummy. I may be bias though because I love curry powder. I am by no means vegan, but trying to incorporate "meatless" meals to my family a few nights a week. I think it's important to present my family with different options that are delicious. This one is a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Delicious. I loved the red lentils as they just blend in and have a mild flavor. Even my 6 year old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I have prepared this for family and friends, followed instructions and met with compliments- it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry D Pegg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I would give my adapted version 5 stars. Use veggie stock instead of water. Add more veggies, celery, mushrooms, carrot and red pepper. Use WAY more curry powder, I use a Tbsp of Garam Marsala and Siracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States