Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This recipe is excellent and has beautiful flavor. My only word of caution is to half the lentils unless you want to have to keep adding liquid and thus, spices to compensate. Like other reviewers, I substituted sweet potato for the butternut squash since I already had it on hand, and substituted one cup of vegetable stock for one of the cups of water for some extra flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is an awesome basic recipe. Whenever I do vegan or vegetarian however, the dish always cries for chick peas. So I added about a cup of them. I interchange butternut squash and sweet potato depending what I have. I use the whole can of light coconut milk, and instead of water, I use my homemade veggie broth. I make it thicker, like a stew and serve it over soba noodles. mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was really really tasty with an an added splash of hot sauce. It turned out really thick more like a porrage then soup. We served it over Quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Awesome recipe, the squash tastes amazing with the coconut milk. Took some of the other reviewers advice and used two cups of chicken stock instead of 2 cups of water (of course, it wasn't vegan). Also, I didn't have fenugreek so used fennel seed and it was delicious! I should have used more. I want to try fresh fennel next time, too. Also, I added the cilantro in at the very end instead of cooking it the whole 30 minutes. Gives it a nice fresh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Just a question of personal taste. I was looking for a homier version. I was not crazy about the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I added the whole can of coconut milk, but otherwise followed the recipe. Great vegan meal with lots of taste! I will for sure make this again. I may try sweet potato or another kind of squash next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MYIMAGINARYBAND
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I thought this was good, but not as spectacular as some of the reviewers made it out to be. This makes a very thick soup and has a unique flavor. If you like squash and cilantro you will probably like it. It tastes better fresh and isn't nearly as good as leftovers. I made this mostly according to recipe except without fenugreek seeds which I couldn't find. Also I used a whole can of lite coconut milk. My roommate thought this was good but not substantial enough for a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYIMAGINARYBAND

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Delicious! And always received with rave reviews by friends and family. If I don't have butternut squash, I'll use sweet potato instead. And I've never had fenugreek, but I do use ground cumin. You can also use the entire can of coconut milk, although this will obviously up the fat content of the dish somewhat. But it's delicious that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good! Very flexible. Great on Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I will definitely be making this again as I don't think it tasted as good as it could have. I used brown lentils thinking it doesn't matter, but I think it does. I also had to add about a cup more water because it looked too thick. I used veggie broth instead but it didn't seem like it had a lot of flavor. I will be tweaking this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States