Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Fabulous! The coconut milk adds that extra 'something'. I had been making a red lentil soup before, but this trumps it! I did use a sweet potato instead of carrot, and seasoned with cumin, curry powder, ground ginger and cayenne. Omitted the fenugreek because I had none. Added about 4 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I just finished a bowl of this and it surpassed my expectations! I agree with Chari in her praise. Anyone who appreciates Indian/Asian flavors, should give this a try. I was out of peanut oil, so I used canola; had left-over roasted squash, so scooped some out of the shell and used that. I used a whole can of coconut milk plus maybe 1+ cup of extra water. I think the squash, which was about the consistency of lumpy mashed potatoes, probably contributed to extra thichness, and needed even more liquid. I added an extra big pinch of both the cayenne and nutmeg, was generous with the curry and I would have added more ginger, if I'd had it, because I'm an Indian spice-head. The whole house is perfumed with the fragrance of coconut, curry and cilantro. This is also easy and will go to the top of my list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Hearty and warming, a fantastic vegetarian/vegan option. Very flexible and welcoming to adding pretty much any vegetable you want. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is such a delicious and hearty soup/stew! I added a little more squash and a full can of light coconut milk, mashed the squash a little, and added all the cilantro at the very end. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Yummy! I played with the amounts- and I agree with the reviewer who called this recipe versatile. I used more garlic, onion & ginger than the recipe called for- but that's how we like it! And it smelled wonderful while cooking- mmmmm- the curry powder is absolutely necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Delicious! Try this recipe!!! My only changes - I used bullion instead of salt and I went easy on the curry because it's not my favorite flavor. But because I didn't want to alter the recipe too much I was bold with it for me! I also reserved 1/2 the cilantro to add a the end. Next time I would reserve it all to toss in just before serving - reason being, fresh herbs are usually best added at the end of cooking and the bright green color is better retained. Anyway, I love this soup. I plan to eat it with some goat cheese and see how it freezes. (freezes really well! DELISH!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I love this soup....I've made it about 3 times now and it is creamy delicious and feels so good going down to me it feels like a healing kind of soup. Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
It's delcious!!! We loved it!! I wouldn't call it a soup though it's more of a dal. I followed the recipe and doubled it. yum! can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
my favorite soup of all! able to locate the fenugreek but not sure it adds anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktr2567

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States