Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
If you like curry, make this dish immediately! It is delicious and so versatile. You can put just about any vegetable in there and it will be wonderful. I followed the recipe pretty much to the letter, but next time I'll add more vegetables. It has a wonderful flavor. I topped it with plain low fat yogurt, which gave it a nice zest. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I used a can of lite coconut milk and some extra water (veggie broth). I skipped cilantro, and this was a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I allowed this lovely recipe to get really thick, then ate it with pita chips. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is excellent. I did it in a pressure cooker at less than half the time and it came out great. I used a whole can of coconut milk because of that. I have recommended it to everyone. Healthy too! Also go easy on the paprika if you're using hot curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This soup is AWESOME!! I will make this again and again. I used fresh young coconut meat and its water in a blender to make the coconut milk. I didn't have fresh cilantro, so I used fresh mint and parsley instead. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delicious! My first time to make a curry dish. I used fennel seed for the fenugreek seeds. I also used chicken stock instead of water. I think water might have been better. Will try it that way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Excellent! Used masala instead of fenugreek, and chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENEESSELAH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
What a great combination of spicy and sweet. I did take another reviewer's advice by adding spinach. I also used vegetable stock instead of water and a whole can of coconut milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
What an delicious soup! I didn't add fenugreek or tomato paste- didn't have them. I also upped the curry spice and served it with a dollop of chili garlic paste on top. Perfect for a cold winter day. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Ruppenstein Dunegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I've prepared it twice and will undoubtedly prepare in again and again. I deviated from the recipe slightly each time. The first time I used lite coconut milk, chicken stock (instead of water) and forgot the nutmeg. The second time I used regular coconut milk, added some mushrooms and cauliflower and remembered the nutmeg. Both times I used olive oil and green lentils, because that's what I had on hand. It was delicious both ways. In my opinion, the added mushrooms and cauliflower did not improve the recipe, but did not harm it either. I thought it was equally good with lite coconut milk, so in the future, I'll regularly use the lite rather than whole coconut milk. Also, using chicken stock instead of water may have marginally improved the taste, but of course it is no longer a vegan recipe. In the future I will make it with red lentils, as the recipe calls for, but expect that would merely change the texture more than the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States