Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I allowed this lovely recipe to get really thick, then ate it with pita chips. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is excellent. I did it in a pressure cooker at less than half the time and it came out great. I used a whole can of coconut milk because of that. I have recommended it to everyone. Healthy too! Also go easy on the paprika if you're using hot curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This soup is AWESOME!! I will make this again and again. I used fresh young coconut meat and its water in a blender to make the coconut milk. I didn't have fresh cilantro, so I used fresh mint and parsley instead. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delicious! My first time to make a curry dish. I used fennel seed for the fenugreek seeds. I also used chicken stock instead of water. I think water might have been better. Will try it that way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Excellent! Used masala instead of fenugreek, and chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENEESSELAH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
What a great combination of spicy and sweet. I did take another reviewer's advice by adding spinach. I also used vegetable stock instead of water and a whole can of coconut milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
What an delicious soup! I didn't add fenugreek or tomato paste- didn't have them. I also upped the curry spice and served it with a dollop of chili garlic paste on top. Perfect for a cold winter day. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKETMOMKD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I've prepared it twice and will undoubtedly prepare in again and again. I deviated from the recipe slightly each time. The first time I used lite coconut milk, chicken stock (instead of water) and forgot the nutmeg. The second time I used regular coconut milk, added some mushrooms and cauliflower and remembered the nutmeg. Both times I used olive oil and green lentils, because that's what I had on hand. It was delicious both ways. In my opinion, the added mushrooms and cauliflower did not improve the recipe, but did not harm it either. I thought it was equally good with lite coconut milk, so in the future, I'll regularly use the lite rather than whole coconut milk. Also, using chicken stock instead of water may have marginally improved the taste, but of course it is no longer a vegan recipe. In the future I will make it with red lentils, as the recipe calls for, but expect that would merely change the texture more than the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Great recipe, very versatile. We used approx 1 cup of strained tomato instead of tomato paste. Also, we used a full can of coconut milk instead of a half can. This is great as a soup, or remove some liquid and make it a coconut lentil curry served with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dasklown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I love this soup! Tweak it according to your preferences like add carrots, sweet potato, anything. It's wonderful. Bought some fenugreek powder but I think adding the garam marsala was even better for this dish. The coconut milk, fresh ginger, and fresh cilantro were what set this dish apart from the other lentil soups I have made. I sort of doubled it without really measuring. Used 32 oz of veggie stock and maybe the same amount of water to about 2 cups lentils. Just eyeballed it and kept tasting. It did seem too thin initially so I let it cook down until it was how we liked it. Used 1/2 bag of baby carrots, 1 stick of celery and 1/2 a large onion all sauteed in the beginning. Used 4 small garnet sweet potatoes instead of squash. Left out tomato paste out of preference. Served over hot rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States