Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I made this soup yesterday. I tried to follow this recipe as closely as possible in the ingredients. I did have to substitute asafetida for garlic (due to my garlic allergy) and ground ginger for whole (what I had). I ommitted the cayenne (my husband doesn't tolerate too spicy hot) and regular pepper (I don't use that in my cooking). I steamed the squash first and mashed it before adding the lentils. I had to use half the amount of coconut milk because that is what I had. As others mentioned, I had to add more water till the lentils were done. Anyways, my modifications were slight. I was so proud of myself for making something that finally tasted like true ethnic Indian-like cuisine. My husband loved it and told me to make it again. I would like to try making it again omitting the "pinch of" this and that just to save on pulling out ingredients. But I love how subtle all the flavors are and how well they go together to make a delicate, slightly sweet whole. We served it with buttered quinoa. Thanks so much for sharing this one. I will be checking out your other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I had to try this recipe. I was disappointed. All the strong spices practically cover the real delicious taste of lentils; would be quite enough to use 1-2 spices and more veggies. Too hot and spicy for me and not suitable for my weak stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hana Stockinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Loved this soup! I had most of the ingredients so started to follow the recipie. Even with the fenugreek. Then I eliminated the last 5 ingredients, except for salt and pepper, substituted thai green curry paste. Added portaabellas chopped, last 15 min. and last 5 min. some baby spinich leaves. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I don't typically like soup, or lentils! I made this at my vegan-husband's request, and was surprised that it was so good. Like another reviewer, I replaced the water with veggie broth and added an extra cup of water. I thought it needed salt and heat—so added 1 t. salt, 1 t. ancho chili powder and a dash of hot chili oil. It's thick—I poured it over a baked potato; my husband and kid ate it like soup. BTW: Red lentils were found in the "bin" food and are actually orange—if you are trying to hunt them down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrapharrison
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Wow! I absolutely loved this soup. I made the recipe exactly as written. I served it topped with toasted coconut, some cilantro and chopped green onion. It was so creamy and hearty! I'm already looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This is an easy, delicious recipe, which can serve as a base for root vegetables in addition to butternut squash. I have tried variations with combinations of parsnips, carrots, turnips, beets, potatoes, etc and they are all good. The red lentils take so little time to cook that I add them at the end, and that way the soup is not as mushy. I think the name of the soup is a misnomer as the squash, not the red lentils, dominates. I call this soup Butternut/Red Lentil soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Didn't change a thing- one of the best recipes I've ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I cook a lot of Indian food and this is great. Very adaptable. I followed it except :I used ghee instead of peanut oil, sweet potatoes instead of squash, skipped the curry powder and added turmeric. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Groton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This was very tasty and healthy. I blended all of it at the end. My husband did not like it as much as I did, but then he is not a big fan of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
We made this soup for a church fundraiser and it went so fast! People loved it. I couldn't find the fenugreek seeds, so I left them out, and I don't think it suffered much. It still came out extremely tasty. People asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States