Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Added shredded carrots and tofu, 1/2 tsp cumin, splash of lime juice. Better on day two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
OK - I changed it up quite a bit to work with what we had here in our home and it turned out amazing. Try this instead -1 cup of fingerling potatoes instead of squash, juice of 1/2 lime, dried cilantro instead of fresh, no fenugreek seeds, ground ginger instead of the root, and double the water (I may have even tripled the water - I just kept adding more as it thickened). I used my immersion blender to pulverize the potatos when they were cooked through. Soup has a wonderful texture and flavor. I would monitor the consistency of the soup as it cooks - it can become very thick - I would err on the side of adding more water to get it to the write consistency - you don't want it to be like paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I only had buttercup squash instead if buttercup, and it was amazing! Very flavorful and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great soup! Even my teenager's like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I've made this recipe twice with minimal changes: olive oil instead of peanut, adding mushrooms and increased amount of curry. It was a hit both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Great soup, all the flavors come together nicely. Might increase the fenugreek seeds next time to bring out more flavor or use the powder. A nice soup to experiment with, as others have mentioned, but also delicious just as written. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This was good. I added TWO pinches of cayenne and it was way too hot for me. I had to cut it with some yogurt which actually tasted yummy! I used frozen butternut squash chunks. I didn't care for the texture. Next time I will try sweet potato in place of the squash. The flavor of the broth is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Yep! 5 star all the way. But WOW it's THICK! Like paste, so be SURE to add more liquid...the reviewers that talk about the thickness have added more coconut milk or veggie broth or water. And it takes longer than 30 minutes (low simmer) to get those lentils for break. I pre-cooked the butternut squash, so added it after the lentils had been in for ~30 minutes. Zowie this is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TartanSongbird007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Very tasty dish. I added 1 teaspoon cumin, and 1 teaspoon garam masala, and added a whole quart of vegetable broth instead of two cups water per the instruction (per other comments saying it got too thick). Turned out great. I also added some soyrizo (vegetarian chorizo). Great stuff!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Exquisite! I always make large quantities of soup so I quadrupled most/all ingredients in this recipe. Only changes I made were substituting acorn squash for butternut, and vegetable broth for water, cause it all looked just about right as written! Oh, and I didn't have fenugreek so I added a little maple syrup, which I read resembles fenugreek in taste and fragrance. I let it thicken and served it over rice; the whole family loved it . What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States