Vegan Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I've made this recipe twice with minimal changes: olive oil instead of peanut, adding mushrooms and increased amount of curry. It was a hit both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Great soup, all the flavors come together nicely. Might increase the fenugreek seeds next time to bring out more flavor or use the powder. A nice soup to experiment with, as others have mentioned, but also delicious just as written. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This was good. I added TWO pinches of cayenne and it was way too hot for me. I had to cut it with some yogurt which actually tasted yummy! I used frozen butternut squash chunks. I didn't care for the texture. Next time I will try sweet potato in place of the squash. The flavor of the broth is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Yep! 5 star all the way. But WOW it's THICK! Like paste, so be SURE to add more liquid...the reviewers that talk about the thickness have added more coconut milk or veggie broth or water. And it takes longer than 30 minutes (low simmer) to get those lentils for break. I pre-cooked the butternut squash, so added it after the lentils had been in for ~30 minutes. Zowie this is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TartanSongbird007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Very tasty dish. I added 1 teaspoon cumin, and 1 teaspoon garam masala, and added a whole quart of vegetable broth instead of two cups water per the instruction (per other comments saying it got too thick). Turned out great. I also added some soyrizo (vegetarian chorizo). Great stuff!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Exquisite! I always make large quantities of soup so I quadrupled most/all ingredients in this recipe. Only changes I made were substituting acorn squash for butternut, and vegetable broth for water, cause it all looked just about right as written! Oh, and I didn't have fenugreek so I added a little maple syrup, which I read resembles fenugreek in taste and fragrance. I let it thicken and served it over rice; the whole family loved it . What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daion
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Absolutely amazing! Great winter dish for a small gathering! The only thing I did not add was the fenugreek seeds. Could not find them. Also, add a lot of salt to bring the taste out more. Other than that I 100% recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Wow! This is such a great soup! I made two modifications: no ginger (my hubby hates ginger), and two fresh tomatoes instead of the paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very good recipe - I followed it as written, but did add an additional cup of water toward the end as it was becoming more stew than soup. It definitely is a keeper of a recipe. I was just given a bottle of ginger juice, and the next time I make this recipe I will sub the juice for the minced ginger. I think it will make the soup smoother in texture and yet keep the taste of the ginger. Thank you Labelchef !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Excellent! I made this last night and all three family members loved it. So healthy and so delicious - how could you not love it? I followed the recipe exactly except I had no Feenugreek seeds - so had to omit that. I also mashed the butternut squash a bit with a handheld masher before serving and sprinkled more fresh cilantro on it when I served it. Awesome recipe - a real keeper - thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States