Vegan Portobello Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I have made this dish a couple of times already. I use all the same ingredients, but I don't follow the directions exactly, because I thought it was a bit complicated with too many bowls, extra time for marinading and an oven. Instead I threw the mushrooms and onion (I use fresh onion) into a deep skillet with the marinade sauce. I sauteed that until it is soft, about 5 minutes, then I add the sour cream sauce and toss for 1-2 minutes like it says. Then I toss in pasta. So much easier like this and it tastes great. I can't say how it compares to the original recipe, but I like the way mine turned out and it is a lot easier for me. The only ingredient I omitted is the wine because I don't have it. My hubby also really likes this and compliments it everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
WOW - this was really very good! I made it for a meat-loving dad and brother and they went back not just for seconds, but until it was all gone! I'll admit, I did cheat a little and not make it vegan, I added a little cream cheese to finish it off. I also sauteed some onions in butter. I know, I know, not the exact recipe, but OH so GOOD! This is going to be a regular recipe for me and I will do it vegan. Btw - also did some Shitake mushrooms with it and as others suggested, added the marinade into the cream sauce (yes, all of it). Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My vegan son loved this! I added about 3 tablespoons of the liquid from the mushrooms into the sauce and it made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Really tasty and very easy! We had all the ingredients in our non-vegan home aside from Vegan Sour Cream and No-Beef Bouillon. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Very good! Definitely fulfilled the creamy, meaty pasta craving! Next time I will perhaps not add "all" of the marinade to the cream sauce. And I will follow the other reviewer's recommendation to add the fresh, minced onions to the marinade or saute first. Overall excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I forgot the flour but it was still AMAZING. My meat loving family said it was hit! A definite repeat. I highly recommend this dish over tri-colored quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggiev
Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is/was a delicious Sunday Dinner today. I used what ingredients were available at my home, so substitutions were made. Instead of 8 ounces vegan sour cream, I used 3/4 container of Daiya Plain Cream Cheese Style Spread. Instead of 2 teaspoons vegan no-beef bouillon, I used 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. Instead of 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar, I used 1 tablespoon cider vinegar. I used the preparation method that hw3023 suggested in which that I threw the mushrooms and onion into a deep skillet with the marinade sauce. I sauteed that until it is soft, about 5 minutes, then I add the sour cream sauce and toss for 1-2 minutes like it says. Then I toss in pasta. This is an easy, delicious comforting dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I put a little more wine - and marinated it just in that. It was super tasty as is. Next time I would use garlic powder instead of minced because the texture of the minced garlic was weird to me. But flavor wise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
great recipe. I sauteed onion, garlic, mushrooms on the stove ( left out the oven part.) then added the marinade concoction. then added the sour cream concoction. the vegan sour cream is not my favorite thing... but the recipe still turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe was very tasty. Although I really didn't like the dried onions in it (and I only used half of what was asked). I will definitely try it again using cooked chopped onions. I added a few tablespoons of the marinade to the mixture (as other reviewers mentioned), but I found it way too salty (this wasn't in the original recipe though)... next time I'll try it with 1 tablespoon max!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States