Vegan Portobello Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Really tasty and very easy! We had all the ingredients in our non-vegan home aside from Vegan Sour Cream and No-Beef Bouillon. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My vegan son loved this! I added about 3 tablespoons of the liquid from the mushrooms into the sauce and it made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Definitely saved the some of the marinating fluid to add to the sauce. Made this 3 times now, as per the recipe and then with real dairy. My partner has Chron's and normally uses goat dairy, so we opted for fresh goat cheese and soy cream since we couldn't get the vegan sour cream that day. This is now a favorite, thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysis
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is a great recipe! Did as the other reviews said and added in some of the marinate. We will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Very good! We added the marinade into the sauce too for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Followed the recipe, except I put all the marinade in the pan after chopping up the mushrooms. Added sour cream mixture to it. Serve with BIG red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
WOW - this was really very good! I made it for a meat-loving dad and brother and they went back not just for seconds, but until it was all gone! I'll admit, I did cheat a little and not make it vegan, I added a little cream cheese to finish it off. I also sauteed some onions in butter. I know, I know, not the exact recipe, but OH so GOOD! This is going to be a regular recipe for me and I will do it vegan. Btw - also did some Shitake mushrooms with it and as others suggested, added the marinade into the cream sauce (yes, all of it). Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe was very tasty. Although I really didn't like the dried onions in it (and I only used half of what was asked). I will definitely try it again using cooked chopped onions. I added a few tablespoons of the marinade to the mixture (as other reviewers mentioned), but I found it way too salty (this wasn't in the original recipe though)... next time I'll try it with 1 tablespoon max!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I have made this dish a couple of times already. I use all the same ingredients, but I don't follow the directions exactly, because I thought it was a bit complicated with too many bowls, extra time for marinading and an oven. Instead I threw the mushrooms and onion (I use fresh onion) into a deep skillet with the marinade sauce. I sauteed that until it is soft, about 5 minutes, then I add the sour cream sauce and toss for 1-2 minutes like it says. Then I toss in pasta. So much easier like this and it tastes great. I can't say how it compares to the original recipe, but I like the way mine turned out and it is a lot easier for me. The only ingredient I omitted is the wine because I don't have it. My hubby also really likes this and compliments it everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Very good! Definitely fulfilled the creamy, meaty pasta craving! Next time I will perhaps not add "all" of the marinade to the cream sauce. And I will follow the other reviewer's recommendation to add the fresh, minced onions to the marinade or saute first. Overall excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States