Vegan Mexican Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
1 pot method: saute onions/garlic/spices. Then add potatoes/carrots/celery/water/boullion. Then the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Father, forgive me, I used chicken broth and added chicken parts, I could hear them clucking in protest the whole time... cluck cluck, cluck! It was great! A major hit. A mexican man where I held the function came out of the warehouse and meekly approached me and asked me what it was I was cooking. When I told him, he quietly told me that he came out because it smelled like his grand-mama's house when she would make menudo. He seemed really moved by the whole thing. I have to say this is a wonderful soup, I had to keep adding liquid as I went because it can tend to steam off, and it just continued to get better and better. Make a batch and put it in the fridge, you'll have something delicious and hearty to eat all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I hate to be the voice of dissent here, but I really didn't enjoy this very much. I followed the recipe exactly and think I might like it better with some tweaking. I like spicy foods but all I can taste in this is a lot of heat. Less chili powder? Less cumin? I'm not sure what this needs. I tried serving it with little dollops of sour cream on top, but this didn't really help. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This stew was AWESOME! Definitely delicious. I added okra, zucchini and tiny red lentils, which made it very hearty. I will probably expirement with different veggies each time. Thanks for sharing the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This tasted great but I sure did not like the hominy. I'd substitute whole kernel sweet corn next time. Maybe also add cubed sweet potato and sliced squash (the squash during the last 10 minutes, as it cooks quickly). These are in a Mexican Beef Stew recipe I have that is similar to this, and they work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
We make this at work and get requests for the recipe everytime we serve it. We follow the directions exactly, but I like the idea of adding pinto beans to give it some good protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNDROPFAIRY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Morrison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I am a new vegan but have loved Mexican food forever, and this is the perfect vegan replacement for my favorite chicken tortilla soup recipe- so delicious and so flavorful you don't even notice the absent of meat or chicken broth. Another amazing thing about this recipe is that it is SO EASY and can be tweaked depending on what veggies you have on hand. Hard to mess this one up. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle9004

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I love it! As a new Vegan, previously, my idea of cooking was heating something in the microwave or boiling water for spaghetti. So I'm VERY new to cooking! So I always follow recipes exact and don't "tweak". I saw the recipe and it sounded delish. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it rocked! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Delicious!!! We changed a few things, but not too much. We used broth instead of boullion, no celery and (accidently, although...YUM) added double the chili powder. Very hearty and good for clearing the sinuses! I think the hominy adds the mexican flavor but I am not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This stew was very good. I added two jalapenos because I like things extra spicy and some kernal corn with the maize. After simmering I added cornstarch/water mixture to thicken it since it didn't seem very "stewish". If I make this again I'll add about half the amount of seasoned salt -- as directed this stew is too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States