Vegan Mexican Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Delicious!!! We changed a few things, but not too much. We used broth instead of boullion, no celery and (accidently, although...YUM) added double the chili powder. Very hearty and good for clearing the sinuses! I think the hominy adds the mexican flavor but I am not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Really awesome with a little kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Yummy. I sometimes change the amount and types of veggies, and it still comes out great. I also add tortilla chips as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I hate to be the voice of dissent here, but I really didn't enjoy this very much. I followed the recipe exactly and think I might like it better with some tweaking. I like spicy foods but all I can taste in this is a lot of heat. Less chili powder? Less cumin? I'm not sure what this needs. I tried serving it with little dollops of sour cream on top, but this didn't really help. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
the "seasoning salt" I used was actually peppered season-all seasoning salt by mcormicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cameronmeyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
I added alot of variations to the recipe. It was a good base recipe to get me thinking though. :) I used a can of veggie broth w/ a packette of Taco Bell Chipotle seasoning and some cornstarch stired in, replacing the cumin. I also added lots of frozen veggies and tweaked it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Father, forgive me, I used chicken broth and added chicken parts, I could hear them clucking in protest the whole time... cluck cluck, cluck! It was great! A major hit. A mexican man where I held the function came out of the warehouse and meekly approached me and asked me what it was I was cooking. When I told him, he quietly told me that he came out because it smelled like his grand-mama's house when she would make menudo. He seemed really moved by the whole thing. I have to say this is a wonderful soup, I had to keep adding liquid as I went because it can tend to steam off, and it just continued to get better and better. Make a batch and put it in the fridge, you'll have something delicious and hearty to eat all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This stew was very good. I added two jalapenos because I like things extra spicy and some kernal corn with the maize. After simmering I added cornstarch/water mixture to thicken it since it didn't seem very "stewish". If I make this again I'll add about half the amount of seasoned salt -- as directed this stew is too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This stew was AWESOME! Definitely delicious. I added okra, zucchini and tiny red lentils, which made it very hearty. I will probably expirement with different veggies each time. Thanks for sharing the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Excellent!! Made for a party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States