Vegan Mexican Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Great hearty soup. Make it Sunday and let it rest! It taste better every day it blends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Very good and healthy too. I used red kidney beans and great northern beans instead of hominy.i will be sharing this with my daughter who has turned vegan. Can't wait for her to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
It was really good but made a few changes, as usual. Did not use hominy and instead added corn, black beans, chipotle peppers in adobe, and a can of sweet cream. The sweet heat was delicious. Top with a little shredded cheese and serve with tortilla chips. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Loved it! Made it last night, my husband can't stop eating it either. The funny part is he doesn't realize it is vegan. He keeps calling it "spicy potato soup." Having leftovers tonight, taste great the 2nd night when all the ingredients have the chance to mix and sit all night in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
We are doing a Daniel Fast so I looked up some Vegan recipes. This soup was amazing (for something without meat). I added corn and used chick peas instead of hominy (that was by accident.) I also used veggie broth instead of the cubes. The soup got even better the next day and we ate with wheat tortillas. Will recommend and use again for future fasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1DRIFTER
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This was quite tasty, but more like a soup than a stew. I liked the addition of hominy, which is not something I have eaten before. I used Rotel tomatoes with chili, and it was spicier than most food that we eat, but still enjoyable. It makes a lot--I froze half & hope to enjoy it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I loved this stew, my hubby said it was okay! I doubled the carrots, celery, onions and garlic. I used 2 cups of frozen corn since I couldn't find hominy and I used 28oz diced tomatoes and 3 chopped japholnes since I couldn't find the right tomatoes. I also used my own veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
My husband went nuts over this recipe. Too salty though, next time I won't add any. I used rotel for the crushed tomatoes, added black beans and zuccini squash, and 1 cup of milk (trying to cut the salt). I used a bit of cornstarch. We did not feel like it was a low calorie dinner. I'm trying to lose weight but love flavorful and filling foods. This was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very tasty! I just made this for dinner. I used one 15.8oz can of hominy and added one can of rinsed pinto beans for additional protein. I had no seasoned salt, either. So I had to sub for equal parts garlic powder, ancho chili powder, oregano and salt. Soooooo good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Quick, easy and very tasty! I used the one-pot method suggested by another reviewer. The only other things I did differently were 1) omitted the seasoned salt (I didn't have any) and 2) used a can of plain diced tomatoes and a can of green chilies because I did not have the tomatoes with chilies already in them. Everyone loved it and had seconds. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States