Vegan Mexican Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Father, forgive me, I used chicken broth and added chicken parts, I could hear them clucking in protest the whole time... cluck cluck, cluck! It was great! A major hit. A mexican man where I held the function came out of the warehouse and meekly approached me and asked me what it was I was cooking. When I told him, he quietly told me that he came out because it smelled like his grand-mama's house when she would make menudo. He seemed really moved by the whole thing. I have to say this is a wonderful soup, I had to keep adding liquid as I went because it can tend to steam off, and it just continued to get better and better. Make a batch and put it in the fridge, you'll have something delicious and hearty to eat all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Delicious!!! We changed a few things, but not too much. We used broth instead of boullion, no celery and (accidently, although...YUM) added double the chili powder. Very hearty and good for clearing the sinuses! I think the hominy adds the mexican flavor but I am not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I really enjoyed this stew, and so did my husband who normally won't eat hominy at all! I think it was a good combination of flavors. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Excellent!! Made for a party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This stew was AWESOME! Definitely delicious. I added okra, zucchini and tiny red lentils, which made it very hearty. I will probably expirement with different veggies each time. Thanks for sharing the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
the "seasoning salt" I used was actually peppered season-all seasoning salt by mcormicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cameronmeyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Yummy. I sometimes change the amount and types of veggies, and it still comes out great. I also add tortilla chips as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Really awesome with a little kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
My husband and I love this recipe. I used homemade pinto beans instead of hominy. The soup tasted even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I love it! As a new Vegan, previously, my idea of cooking was heating something in the microwave or boiling water for spaghetti. So I'm VERY new to cooking! So I always follow recipes exact and don't "tweak". I saw the recipe and it sounded delish. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it rocked! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States