Vegan Mac and No Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This is a good recipe, easier to make better. I read the other reviews. My suggestion, after having made it, is to start the sauce by making a roux. This will help to avoid the lumpiness some had mentioned. I started the roux with 2 tsp of Earth Balance "butter", 1/4 C flour, and substited the liquid recommended with 1/2C soy milk +1/2C water. As for the salt, I began with 1/4 tsp and worked it up from there (maybe a scant 1/2 tsp. total). I used only 1/4 C pulverized cashews. Also, I ended up using nearly 3/4 C of the nutritional yeast (more cheesy! :). And the last change, I completely omitted the oil, didn't seem necessary. I subbed diced toms for the peppers. I really believe the key to making this spectacular is to start with a good foundation and that means a roux!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I rated this 5 stars nearly 2 years ago. It is delicious! I am compelled to give a more thorough review though. To those who have tried leaving out the roasted red pepper, this shouldn't be done. It isn't spicy at all and the red pepper is helps the dish have a cheesy flavor as well as that bright orange color children are so fond of. If you leave out the pepper, you are eliminating a key element in the dish's flavor. Also, one reviewer complained about the fat content from the use of cashews. I would like to comment that macaroni and cheese is not a health food. This recipe is certainly healthier than any dairy counterparts because the fat from nuts is more beneficial than animal fat. You will not successfully make a faux cheese sauce using only soy milk. The nuts give the dish a cheesy flavor. I do agree with some reviews that the baking time can be shortened. To keep it creamier, I only bake it for about 30-35 minutes. If I have enough soy milk on hand, I like to replace the water with soy milk just for the added vitamins and calcium. Before making this recipe, cooks should keep in mind that this is a vegan substitute and does not taste just like cheese or a highly processed boxed mac and cheese. Having made many different cheese substitutes in my kitchen, I can attest that this recipe is wonderful. You just have to know what to expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I am not a vegan (I aspire to be though), but I AM trying to get off dairy due to daughters food allergy. I have to say, I was so surprised to find this not only edible, but SO YUMMY! I have been experimenting with cheese substitutes and have come to the conclusion that I would rather do without. However, this hit the spot and gave me hope. Thanks for sharing. I also subbed ½ C almond milk for part of the water and added diced tomatoes for the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This vegan mac and no cheese recipe is one of my favorite. It tastes great and just for your info, I used whole wheat macaroni and doubled the nutritional yeast. Fabulous taste! Easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
i cannot believe this one! i have been vegetarian for nearly 12 years and just recently went vegan. i was already missing my Mac-N-Cheese after only a week and this recipe blew me away. it really tastes like my favorite cheesy memories. you just have to try it for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This is the creamiest food I have eaten in more than a year! The texture is perfect, the flavor is full, and I can not believe it! I have made many faux cheeses, and they have all been palatable or even yummy, but none of them have actually replaced an old favorite like this mac and no cheese did! I am going to eat the left-overs before my husband gets to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I love this recipe - it is delicious and satisfying. I put a can of drained, diced tomatoes in the casserole dish for extra flavour. I am a long time vegetarian, and vegan more recently. The hardest thing for me to give up was cheese. I don't even miss it in this recipe. This is stick-to-your ribs comfort food at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I adore this recipe. It satisfies my mac and cheese craving without the suffering of the animals!! Big thumbs up. Oh I was lazy the second time I made this and just nuked it for 4-5 min instead of putting it in the oven and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I have made this three times in the last two weeks. It is very easy to throw everything in the blender. I like my mac and cheese a little creamier though. So after trying it baked the first time, I decided to now mix the pasta and sauce together on the stove and heat through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
SUPER yummie! I have been vegetarian for 5 years (recently started to eat chicken :( ) but I am lactose intolerant and considering mac and cheese is my favorite dish EVER, this totally hits the spot. The cashews provide a TON of protine (and fat :( ) and the yeast adds yummie cheese flavor. I added in a teaspoon of chili powder for some more flavor and it was good. I also cook in mushrooms with the onions. YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States