Vegan Mac and No Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This vegan mac and no cheese recipe is one of my favorite. It tastes great and just for your info, I used whole wheat macaroni and doubled the nutritional yeast. Fabulous taste! Easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
i cannot believe this one! i have been vegetarian for nearly 12 years and just recently went vegan. i was already missing my Mac-N-Cheese after only a week and this recipe blew me away. it really tastes like my favorite cheesy memories. you just have to try it for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I adore this recipe. It satisfies my mac and cheese craving without the suffering of the animals!! Big thumbs up. Oh I was lazy the second time I made this and just nuked it for 4-5 min instead of putting it in the oven and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This is a good recipe, easier to make better. I read the other reviews. My suggestion, after having made it, is to start the sauce by making a roux. This will help to avoid the lumpiness some had mentioned. I started the roux with 2 tsp of Earth Balance "butter", 1/4 C flour, and substited the liquid recommended with 1/2C soy milk +1/2C water. As for the salt, I began with 1/4 tsp and worked it up from there (maybe a scant 1/2 tsp. total). I used only 1/4 C pulverized cashews. Also, I ended up using nearly 3/4 C of the nutritional yeast (more cheesy! :). And the last change, I completely omitted the oil, didn't seem necessary. I subbed diced toms for the peppers. I really believe the key to making this spectacular is to start with a good foundation and that means a roux!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
SUPER yummie! I have been vegetarian for 5 years (recently started to eat chicken :( ) but I am lactose intolerant and considering mac and cheese is my favorite dish EVER, this totally hits the spot. The cashews provide a TON of protine (and fat :( ) and the yeast adds yummie cheese flavor. I added in a teaspoon of chili powder for some more flavor and it was good. I also cook in mushrooms with the onions. YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This is the creamiest food I have eaten in more than a year! The texture is perfect, the flavor is full, and I can not believe it! I have made many faux cheeses, and they have all been palatable or even yummy, but none of them have actually replaced an old favorite like this mac and no cheese did! I am going to eat the left-overs before my husband gets to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I could not believe how easy this recipe was and delicious. My husband and 17 year old daughter went back for seconds (there are not vegans!) This one will definitely be made often! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
this recipe was really weird. i think it was the lemon juice...it just made it taste so bizzare! but we did end up eating it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I love this recipe - it is delicious and satisfying. I put a can of drained, diced tomatoes in the casserole dish for extra flavour. I am a long time vegetarian, and vegan more recently. The hardest thing for me to give up was cheese. I don't even miss it in this recipe. This is stick-to-your ribs comfort food at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This recipe was terrific as is, but could also imagine it tasting great with creative changes... easy and delicious. Crushed red pepper flakes season it nicely if you like a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States