Vegan Mac and No Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was my first time trying to make a vegan mac and cheese. This was really great. I doubled the nutritional yeast as another reviewer suggested and added bread crumbs on the top to bake. I would suggest either not backing as long or makign extra cheese sauce to pour over each serving. That would be excellent. Still this had great flavor and my carnivore husband liked it better than real baked mac & cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I'm sorry, but I did not care for this at all. I followed the recipe exactly. Nobody in the family could eat more than a few bites. The texture was pasty and the flavor was really funky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Okay, I read every single review and decided to make this recipe. Not even my 1 or 5 year olds would touch it! I added a bit of extra nutritional yeast (as other reviewers recommended). The sauce was RUNNY not creamy in any way. I tried very hard to like it. It was quite expensive to make. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna F.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is delicious. During treatment for thyroid cancer I had to go on a low-iodine diet which means no dairy and no soy. I couldn't even use rice milks or almond milks because they all contain sea salt. This recipe was the rare treat I could have then, and I still enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I tried leaving the pepper out because I don't like spicy food, and that left this without any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I suppose I am also a minority but I did not enjoy this recipe. I found it really bad, to be honest. I also don't understand how others could find it "creamy" well, actually yes I do but the nut taste is too much - not to mention the tons of calories nut butters give foods! No thanks. I will not make this recipe again. HOWEVER, what came out of this, on a personal level, was a desire to create a "cream" based vegan mac&cheese... so right now I am testing diff methods out using soymilk as a base, with little or no nut butters. If all goes well I will publish it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This was AMAZING! I did not add the peppers or garlic & I used olive oil and doubled the yeast which you must do to give it a stronger cheese taste. I also added a teaspoon of salt (it needs it). Make sure your cashews are raw too. If you make it this way I'm sure you'll love it as much as I & my dairy eating friends do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I recently made this for a vegetarian cafe that I run, for "vegan Tuesday". I 8 x the recipe, and it was well received. I followed others' advice and started with a roux, but I made it with olive oil instead of margarine. I 12x the roux/sauce ingredients, so it would be very saucy. I used all soy milk for the sauce, and didn't use all of the cashew/juice/pepper mixture. I used all of the nutritional yeast that I had on hand (probably 7.5 c) I think that it could have used more yeast. I made a crumb topping by whirling baguette chunks, fresh parsley, spices and olive oil in the food prosessor, and put it on top of the panned up pasta. I only baked it enough to brown the crumbs. I was a little disconcerted by the color, it reminded me of those orange colored cheddars, not my favorite look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I guess I'm in the minority here, but my sister and I could only take more than a few bites of this before throwing the lot of it away. I'm not sure how other reviewers describe this dish as "creamy," because after 45 minutes in the oven, every bit of moisture is sucked out of the dish, leaving it clumpy and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very creamy and tasty. My mother, a staunch carnivore, even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States