Vegan Mac and No Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
It did bake up and look like mac and cheese, but, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I did what everyone said in terms of alterations to the recipe (a little less lemon, more yeast, replace some of the water with almond milk). Someone said they didn't use the roasted red pepper because they don't like spicy food, but roasted red pepper is not spicy at all, and that is what gives it the cheezy color and some of the flavor. So don't skip it! When you make this dish you have to go into it knowing that it obviously won't taste exactly like mac n cheese. But if you can't eat dairy then this is a nice recipe for a pasta dish that is creamy, has a cheese like flavor, and tastes like comfort food. And if you haven't had mac n cheese for a long time due to an allergy or because you are lactose intolerant than this will surely hit the spot! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was fantastic! We did not put in the red peppers because I forgot to buy them but it was delicious anyway. My five year old son loved it and he is very picky. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
The recipe can't be right. It turned out to be really runny batter like a cake batter. Had to add flour to salvage. They did not turn out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I doubled the nutritional yeast, added paprika and sundried tomatoes. I used Rice milk in place of water and mixed in a little at a time to not make it as runny. I also added some dry, ground mustard and cayenne pepper. My sons LOVED it and would like to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLYVIVE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
um..wow! This was delicious! I've recently wanted to go vegan-ish for awhile to lose some weight and cut down on my cheese and butter intake. This was absolutely fabulous and tastes just like baked mac and cheese! It's more of a "rigotta" type texture but still delicious. I made it just as appeared the only things I changed was that I used penne instead of elbows and added a few crushed saltines to the top for a more "casserole" type feel. I also added alot more garlic powder b/c I love it plus I didn't have onion powder so I figured more garlic powder would make up for it! My husband even liked it! I will definitely make it again! Would make a great lunch for work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Not bad taste wise, but certainly did not taste anything close to real mac and cheese. The worst part is how expensive it was to make. For the price, I'd like it to taste MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DezC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wheatley Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was good, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I sent this recipe to my mom to try because she recently became a vegan. She brought some for me to try, and I thought it was very good, though a little on the bland side for my tastes. The next time she made it, she added roasted garlic and 2 yellow peppers. I added a little bit of cayenne to my own plate...with the extra seasoning, I thought it was terrific. I prefer this to regular mac and cheese--it just tastes healthier. I think people who really love the super creamy, processed mac and cheese will not be happy with this, but that is probably to be expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was delicious! I am new to being vegan and this was my first attempt at mac and cheese, and I have to say it was better than any mac and cheese i ever made with real cheese! The red peppers give it great flavor, and nutritional yeast is delicious! I look forward to making more things with it. I did add about 5 tablespoons of the yeast, and a dash of cayenne and crushed red peppers for a little kick, but it would have been great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States