Vegan Mac and No Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I doubled the nutritional yeast, added paprika and sundried tomatoes. I used Rice milk in place of water and mixed in a little at a time to not make it as runny. I also added some dry, ground mustard and cayenne pepper. My sons LOVED it and would like to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLYVIVE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
um..wow! This was delicious! I've recently wanted to go vegan-ish for awhile to lose some weight and cut down on my cheese and butter intake. This was absolutely fabulous and tastes just like baked mac and cheese! It's more of a "rigotta" type texture but still delicious. I made it just as appeared the only things I changed was that I used penne instead of elbows and added a few crushed saltines to the top for a more "casserole" type feel. I also added alot more garlic powder b/c I love it plus I didn't have onion powder so I figured more garlic powder would make up for it! My husband even liked it! I will definitely make it again! Would make a great lunch for work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Not bad taste wise, but certainly did not taste anything close to real mac and cheese. The worst part is how expensive it was to make. For the price, I'd like it to taste MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DezC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wheatley Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was good, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I sent this recipe to my mom to try because she recently became a vegan. She brought some for me to try, and I thought it was very good, though a little on the bland side for my tastes. The next time she made it, she added roasted garlic and 2 yellow peppers. I added a little bit of cayenne to my own plate...with the extra seasoning, I thought it was terrific. I prefer this to regular mac and cheese--it just tastes healthier. I think people who really love the super creamy, processed mac and cheese will not be happy with this, but that is probably to be expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was delicious! I am new to being vegan and this was my first attempt at mac and cheese, and I have to say it was better than any mac and cheese i ever made with real cheese! The red peppers give it great flavor, and nutritional yeast is delicious! I look forward to making more things with it. I did add about 5 tablespoons of the yeast, and a dash of cayenne and crushed red peppers for a little kick, but it would have been great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I have made this recipe a few times now and I love it. Other casein free mac and cheese recipes do tend to be gritty and this in comparison is very creamy. We find it a good alternative to the real stuff. We have a number of dietary restrictions in our home and this is the best recipe we have found for casein free mac and cheese. I have followed the recipe exactly and I liked it. My son has a texture issue with the onions and he is allergic to garlic. I have made it without the garlic and I don't really notice a difference. I have also heated the sauce on the stove top and left out the chopped onions and the garlic powder. My son loves it this way. We have tried this with quinoa noodles and buckwheat noodles to keep it gluten free and we have enjoyed it both ways. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kareno
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Creamy, no. Sour, gritty, and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Photo by zeezeebaker
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This recipe is pretty good, and I will make it again with a few changes. I will reduce the lemon juice a little bit because it is a bit strong for my liking, and I will add a little extra garlic powder (or maybe a little adobo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I have had cheesier tasting vegan cheese sauce. I think there is too much lemon in this one, although the consistency is good. I did double the nutritional yeast, as others have suggested. I really like the use of cashews in this sauce and will probably try it again with some flavor tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States