Vegan Mac and No Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I wanted so much to like this. I was so excited as I was making it, especially when I was blending the nutritional yeast with the red pepper mixture; what a beautiful orange color! Nothing saved this - I even did the "roux" suggestions. I think I'll try to find a suggestion or recipe using "Daiya" brand vegan "cheese". Sorry for being so harsh! Wish I could have rated it better :'(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I don't think this tastes like mac 'n' cheese, but having said that, I still think it tastes good...it has its own flavor and is a good, creamy mac dish. I made the roux as one reviewer suggested, using 1/2 cup hemp milk and a 1/2 cup vegetable broth. Used just a squeeze of lemon rather than 1/3 cup; used 1/2 cup of cashews, used 4 TBS of nutritional yeast, and used whole grain penne. Did not use the oil, which cuts down on the fat considerably. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jobecky20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
When I made this, it was an odd consistency-sort of curdled looking. The overwhelming flavor was lemon. I didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made this dish last night and didn't know what to expect. It was delish!! I am gluten free so I used quiona pasta noodles and it was still amazing. I put hot sauce on at the end to give it a little kick. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
OMG, I made this tonight and it was AMAZING! Even my non-vegan boyfriend asked for seconds!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Awesome!! Please follow SOBRIQUET67's recommendation of the roux...worked wonders :) Kind of added almost every ingredient to taste (cut back on the oil, used more margarine, added double nutritional yeast, less lemon juice, no garlic powder and added panko crumbs before baking). Great recipe (and I'm not vegan, and I love all mac n cheezes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Not really like mac and cheese, but good in its own right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is really tasty and quite easy to make. I made it for my family tonight and all five of us reallly liked it. We really do recommend this recipe. We will definitely make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great recipe! I've been cooking vegetarian for years, but only recently ventured into Vegan. Mac and Cheese was something I was thinking just couldn't be done, but this is really good and soothing. I made the recipe as written. Next time I will make a bit more cheese sauce, and I want to try sprinkling the top with bread crumbs and more yeast and then just broiling for a few minutes to get the pretty golden crust on top while remaining more cheesy/gooey underneath. Thanks for this! It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States