Vegan Mac and No Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
As a strict vegetarian, I loved this recipe! I presoaked the cashews overnight, doubled the pasta and nutritional yeast and had it with broccoli. Also, the red pepper is a must! It gives it an orange cheese color. Excellent. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I'm a cheese lover transitioning to a vegan diet, and I loved this recipe. We added some cheddar-flavored Daiya cheese substitute in the last 10 minutes or so, and it really got pretty cheesy in taste and texture. The dish is a bit oily with all the cashews - hence the four stars instead of five - but still, this is very good as an occasional treat. Next time, we will try adding green pepper and/or tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is the best vegan mac and no cheese ever (with the exception of Home Grown Smoker in Portland, OR). I tweaked the recipe a little by blending the onion in. I like onion flavor but not onion texture. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
simple to make and great alternative to cheese, you can play around with this recipe. surprised some ppl didnt like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Slightly disappointed with this recipe. The flavor was not so good the first day, but tasted great the next day after it had a chance to develop. As suggested by a previous commenter, I made a roux and left out the 1/3 cup of oil. I did use nearly a cup of nutritional yeast. In addition to the spices, I used white pepper and mustard powder. This macaroni is very heavy. Sorry, this recipe is not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by Zory
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Pretty good basic recipe. I used a couple of squeezes of key lime instead of the lemon as those are hard to find here. I used artichoke elbow macaroni. I also used like 1/4 of an onion instead of a whole medium size. I added zucchini and red sweet peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I wanted so much to like this. I was so excited as I was making it, especially when I was blending the nutritional yeast with the red pepper mixture; what a beautiful orange color! Nothing saved this - I even did the "roux" suggestions. I think I'll try to find a suggestion or recipe using "Daiya" brand vegan "cheese". Sorry for being so harsh! Wish I could have rated it better :'(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I don't think this tastes like mac 'n' cheese, but having said that, I still think it tastes good...it has its own flavor and is a good, creamy mac dish. I made the roux as one reviewer suggested, using 1/2 cup hemp milk and a 1/2 cup vegetable broth. Used just a squeeze of lemon rather than 1/3 cup; used 1/2 cup of cashews, used 4 TBS of nutritional yeast, and used whole grain penne. Did not use the oil, which cuts down on the fat considerably. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jobecky20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
When I made this, it was an odd consistency-sort of curdled looking. The overwhelming flavor was lemon. I didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made this dish last night and didn't know what to expect. It was delish!! I am gluten free so I used quiona pasta noodles and it was still amazing. I put hot sauce on at the end to give it a little kick. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States