Vegan Mac and No Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I made this for a New Year's Eve party and everyone loved it! Omnivores, vegetarians, and vegans alike. The combo of cashews, nutritional yeast, and roasted red peppers really give this dish a cheesy and savory flavor that satisfies. I will make this again and again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
As a strict vegetarian, I loved this recipe! I presoaked the cashews overnight, doubled the pasta and nutritional yeast and had it with broccoli. Also, the red pepper is a must! It gives it an orange cheese color. Excellent. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I'm a cheese lover transitioning to a vegan diet, and I loved this recipe. We added some cheddar-flavored Daiya cheese substitute in the last 10 minutes or so, and it really got pretty cheesy in taste and texture. The dish is a bit oily with all the cashews - hence the four stars instead of five - but still, this is very good as an occasional treat. Next time, we will try adding green pepper and/or tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is the best vegan mac and no cheese ever (with the exception of Home Grown Smoker in Portland, OR). I tweaked the recipe a little by blending the onion in. I like onion flavor but not onion texture. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
simple to make and great alternative to cheese, you can play around with this recipe. surprised some ppl didnt like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Slightly disappointed with this recipe. The flavor was not so good the first day, but tasted great the next day after it had a chance to develop. As suggested by a previous commenter, I made a roux and left out the 1/3 cup of oil. I did use nearly a cup of nutritional yeast. In addition to the spices, I used white pepper and mustard powder. This macaroni is very heavy. Sorry, this recipe is not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by Zory
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Pretty good basic recipe. I used a couple of squeezes of key lime instead of the lemon as those are hard to find here. I used artichoke elbow macaroni. I also used like 1/4 of an onion instead of a whole medium size. I added zucchini and red sweet peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I wanted so much to like this. I was so excited as I was making it, especially when I was blending the nutritional yeast with the red pepper mixture; what a beautiful orange color! Nothing saved this - I even did the "roux" suggestions. I think I'll try to find a suggestion or recipe using "Daiya" brand vegan "cheese". Sorry for being so harsh! Wish I could have rated it better :'(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I don't think this tastes like mac 'n' cheese, but having said that, I still think it tastes good...it has its own flavor and is a good, creamy mac dish. I made the roux as one reviewer suggested, using 1/2 cup hemp milk and a 1/2 cup vegetable broth. Used just a squeeze of lemon rather than 1/3 cup; used 1/2 cup of cashews, used 4 TBS of nutritional yeast, and used whole grain penne. Did not use the oil, which cuts down on the fat considerably. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jobecky20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
When I made this, it was an odd consistency-sort of curdled looking. The overwhelming flavor was lemon. I didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States