Vegan Mac and No Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Do not eliminate the red peppers...they can be purchased in jars. (Dollar Tree carrys them!) And to make it cheesier, I add more nutritional yeast. Plus, my family loves the sauteed onion flavor, so I add additional onion. Nummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I put double the amount of nutritional yeast in because I read a review that did the same and said it was great. It had a strong lemon and onion taste. It was also bland. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie Justice Yost
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I absolutely love this! I'm not a vegan but wanted to try this. A friend of mine who is fully vegan recommended soaking my cashews for a couple of hours before blending them and it worked great. I've never forayed into any dish like this so to have my first try come out so well was astounding! I agree with another reviewer not to leave out the roasted red peppers. It gives the dish great flavor and color. I made it exactly as written but I'm looking forward to adding in broccoli, mushrooms or any other veggie I have around to make this a main meal. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Justice Yost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by sirkingmister
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
made this for my vegan friend and couldn't believe how amazing it came out. I wanted to stray from the recipe a bit (besides replacing the margarine with soy butter because it's all I had) but there was no need: perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This has become a family favourite. I didn't change a thing, except that I use safflower oil instead canola. We like it better than traditional macaroni and cheese, and we are in no way vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is one of the recipes I tried in my first 2 weeks of being vegan. Because my tastes and expectations were still adjusting, I'm going to cut it some slack, and it was a gateway to my own simpler version of this. I think right off the bat if you are expecting Kraft macaroni and cheese flavor you are going to be dissapointed (my husband had that issue.) So instead of being dissapointed myself, I adjusted my perspective, adjusted the recipe, and now I use it as a "garden alfredo sauce" instead. When I make it I use: -1 can diced tomatoes -about a similar portion of cashews -some salt to taste -some garlic powder to taste Blend together until smooth in the blender and add a little water if needed to get your desired sauce consistency. Really simple, really versatile, and really believable as "garden or tomato alfredo sauce." Sometimes I add some southwest seasoning etc. if I'm going for a different flavor experience and that works well too. The moral of the story for me is that with the proper perspective and expectations this is a versatile recipe that adjusts well to chef preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I totally loved this recipe. I tried to stick as closely to the original recipe in order to give a fair review. my only tweak was as the reviewers suggested to add more flakes. I actually doubled the nutritional yeast. I also did not bake mine. I did however put in the oven to keep warm and I could see where it would be completely dried out. I would suggest to add more something for more kick, also add more "cheese sauce", otherwise this was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was great! I agree with others who said it wasn't exactly mac and cheese, but as a vegan alternative, it's terrific. I used whole grain macaroni noodles. I added some cooked lentils for extra protein and sprinkled some finely chopped spinach on top for extra color and to give myself some greens. I reduced the cooking time to 35 minutes. I did have a little trouble mixing all of the the ingredients that are supposed to go into the food processor; there was a lot of liquid that splashed out on my first try. Doing small batches and then blending everything together worked fine. My husband ate two huge bowls full! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Taste is okay. Texture is unappealing. Being new to veganism I was excited to try this recipe. I was skeptical as I poured the "sauce" over the pasta. Looked really gritty (maybe it's my food processor and not the recipe?) Came out of the oven very dry & gritty with an odd smell. The smell alone made me not even want to try it. The taste was okay but really hard to get past the texture especially when you are wanting a creamy mac n cheese type dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
My BF and I have been vegan for three months now. He had been craving a mac n cheese so I made this recipe and I am so glad I did. It was so full of flavor. I made a double batch and used brown rice pasta to make it gluten free. To those complaining about the texture: Before it bakes in the oven it is very runny, I was skeptical but after baking it for only half the time, it became dense like a baked mac n cheese. I am used to creamier mac n cheese but this was still delicious so adjust the baking time, if any, according to your preference. I also put a couple of extra tablespoons of nutritional yeast. Next time I might add a 1/2 can of white beans to the blender and see how it turns out.Roasted red peppers are a MUST. Definitely a recipe you can tweak and play with but delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THERRERA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States