Vegan Lentil, Kale, and Red Onion Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
This really was delicious. I've never put lentils with pasta before, but it makes a good combination. I don't like most vegan sausages, so I added about a pound of sauteed mushrooms instead(for extra bulk and "meatiness"). I also added a couple of minced shallots for extra oomph. I sauteed the kale in about 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil instead of boiling or steaming, and it was great. I'd make this again and I'm not a vegan, or even a vegetarian. Five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. Of course, I did personalize a bit. instead of taking time to cook the lentils, I added a can of drained chick peas. I also added lots of fresh garlic and steamed the kale over top of the sausage & onion mixture. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I made this with a few adjustments: cut the pasta in half (I think you could leave it out completely), substituted ground pork for the vegan sausage and chicken broth for the vegetable broth, added tomatoes and mushrooms, and use dried instead of fresh herbs. Use extra liquid as the lentils will continue to soak it up. Delicious and heated up well for leftovers - my husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zadia MsCouponista
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I steamed the kale separately. Used brown lentils and vegetarian bouillon cubes. Added mushrooms and sliced grape tomatoes. Used field roast apple sage vegan sausage. Mixed in organic tri-colored quinoa instead of pasta. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zadia MsCouponista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Fantastic. Just made this for the first time. Something I will continue to make. I will try steaming the kale instead of boiling them next time and adding cherry tomatoes at the end may add some color. I didn't need to add any of the reserved liquid. Everything came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We just finished eating this for supper. Everyone enjoyed it! My only change was to add garlic to the onion/sausage mixture, decrease the oil to about 2 Tablespoons, and use turkey sausage. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This is a delicious, hearty vegan recipe. I used baby kale (Costco) and just chopped it a bit and added it to the onion/sausage mixture during the last minute or so. As a shortcut, I skipped step 1 and used Trader Joe's pre-prepared lentils. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This came out very tasty, although I tweaked it a bit to make it healthier. I used quinoa instead of pasta and cubed, roasted butternut squash instead of sausage. I also added a chopped tomato and some fresh garlic to the saute mixture and topped the dish with a small sprinkle of feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
My husband loved the flavors. Like another reviewer, the red lentils came out mushy but aside from texture, the taste was still good. I would say the prep time is not 30 min. I had the entire dish done in about 30 min--I almost didn't make the recipe b/c of the approx time so even if you are short on time, you can still make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I followed other reviewers suggestions of steaming the kale. I omitted the sausage, but added mushrooms and cherry tomatoes instead. I think the cherry tomatoes & mushrooms gave off enough liquid, because I didn't need to use any pasta water. Added some red pepper flake to the onion. And also added a lot of white wine to the lentils while cooking. Yum. Will try over brown rice in the future to change things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States