Vegan Lentil, Kale, and Red Onion Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Fantastic. Just made this for the first time. Something I will continue to make. I will try steaming the kale instead of boiling them next time and adding cherry tomatoes at the end may add some color. I didn't need to add any of the reserved liquid. Everything came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We just finished eating this for supper. Everyone enjoyed it! My only change was to add garlic to the onion/sausage mixture, decrease the oil to about 2 Tablespoons, and use turkey sausage. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This is a delicious, hearty vegan recipe. I used baby kale (Costco) and just chopped it a bit and added it to the onion/sausage mixture during the last minute or so. As a shortcut, I skipped step 1 and used Trader Joe's pre-prepared lentils. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This came out very tasty, although I tweaked it a bit to make it healthier. I used quinoa instead of pasta and cubed, roasted butternut squash instead of sausage. I also added a chopped tomato and some fresh garlic to the saute mixture and topped the dish with a small sprinkle of feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
My husband loved the flavors. Like another reviewer, the red lentils came out mushy but aside from texture, the taste was still good. I would say the prep time is not 30 min. I had the entire dish done in about 30 min--I almost didn't make the recipe b/c of the approx time so even if you are short on time, you can still make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I followed other reviewers suggestions of steaming the kale. I omitted the sausage, but added mushrooms and cherry tomatoes instead. I think the cherry tomatoes & mushrooms gave off enough liquid, because I didn't need to use any pasta water. Added some red pepper flake to the onion. And also added a lot of white wine to the lentils while cooking. Yum. Will try over brown rice in the future to change things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner and I thought it was very good. I did have to add extra veggie broth to the lentils to keep them moist while I was waiting on the pasta to cook, so definitely keep enough on hand. I used Gimme Lean! veggie sausage in the onion mixture, and it turned out great! I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Great taste...didn't miss meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Everyone in my family loved this, including the 1, 4, and 6 year olds! Easily adaptable, we spooned the lentils and kale over fresh biscuits instead of adding pasta. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was SO good! My kids even had seconds! The only change I made was to add shiitake mushrooms and add a bit more veggie broth to the finished product to keep it moist. I will absolutely be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Rotini with Charred Green Onion Pesto

Rotini pasta with cranberries and charred green onion and toasted cashew pesto.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States