Vegan Lentil, Kale, and Red Onion Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Zadia MsCouponista
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I steamed the kale separately. Used brown lentils and vegetarian bouillon cubes. Added mushrooms and sliced grape tomatoes. Used field roast apple sage vegan sausage. Mixed in organic tri-colored quinoa instead of pasta. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zadia MsCouponista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Fantastic. Just made this for the first time. Something I will continue to make. I will try steaming the kale instead of boiling them next time and adding cherry tomatoes at the end may add some color. I didn't need to add any of the reserved liquid. Everything came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We just finished eating this for supper. Everyone enjoyed it! My only change was to add garlic to the onion/sausage mixture, decrease the oil to about 2 Tablespoons, and use turkey sausage. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This is a delicious, hearty vegan recipe. I used baby kale (Costco) and just chopped it a bit and added it to the onion/sausage mixture during the last minute or so. As a shortcut, I skipped step 1 and used Trader Joe's pre-prepared lentils. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This came out very tasty, although I tweaked it a bit to make it healthier. I used quinoa instead of pasta and cubed, roasted butternut squash instead of sausage. I also added a chopped tomato and some fresh garlic to the saute mixture and topped the dish with a small sprinkle of feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
My husband loved the flavors. Like another reviewer, the red lentils came out mushy but aside from texture, the taste was still good. I would say the prep time is not 30 min. I had the entire dish done in about 30 min--I almost didn't make the recipe b/c of the approx time so even if you are short on time, you can still make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I followed other reviewers suggestions of steaming the kale. I omitted the sausage, but added mushrooms and cherry tomatoes instead. I think the cherry tomatoes & mushrooms gave off enough liquid, because I didn't need to use any pasta water. Added some red pepper flake to the onion. And also added a lot of white wine to the lentils while cooking. Yum. Will try over brown rice in the future to change things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner and I thought it was very good. I did have to add extra veggie broth to the lentils to keep them moist while I was waiting on the pasta to cook, so definitely keep enough on hand. I used Gimme Lean! veggie sausage in the onion mixture, and it turned out great! I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Great taste...didn't miss meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Everyone in my family loved this, including the 1, 4, and 6 year olds! Easily adaptable, we spooned the lentils and kale over fresh biscuits instead of adding pasta. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States