Vegan Lentil, Kale, and Red Onion Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I actually made this for a picnic, planning to serve it cold. It had a beautiful taste, and I reallly enjoyed it. There were a few things I changed the next time I made it: 1. I steam the kale separately, to keep the vitamin content. 2. I swapped the vegan sausage for chunks of kielbasa instead (I am not a vegetarian). 3. I used ditalini pasta. The four stars is because I didn't like the kale boiled, and is for the original recipe, and not when I changed it. This makes a great main course (hot or cold) or a great side dish). Even without the sausage it has a beautiful flavour. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
i really enjoyed this meal. i steamed the kale as suggested by one review and used that liquid to add to finished product. next time i make this i will cook in cherry tomatoes and mushrooms with the onions bc it was a little dry. i will also dilute the veggie broth i use to cook the lentils. i used some kind of tofu italian sausage and that worked great. i didn't have fresh herbs but the dried ones sufficed. i think this would also be good with goat cheese/feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rodarte, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Great flavors, but there are some things that I will change next time! I used red lentils, which turned mushy; green ones would probably be better! Red onion looks nice for presentation, but quickly turns to a brownish gray, so I will cook with a yellow onion, and garnish with chopped red onions. Whole wheat rotini was not available, so I subbed with whole wheat noodles, and they worked out fine. This made an enjoyable meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I made this with a spicy vegan chorizo from Trader Joe's, and red lentils. It was excellent -- but on the spicy side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I really recommend this dish. I think the flavor is more delicious as a hot dinner than cold, but it can definitely be eaten either way. I used fresh herbs from my garden along with Tofurkey Italian vegan sausage, and it was delicious. I love the fact it uses both lentils and the vegan sausage, making a high protein dish. Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was an excellent, crowd-pleasing dish! I was having a bunch of guests over and it was perfect - full of flavor (but not spicy) and sutiable for pretty much every dietary preference. I generally followed the recipe, with a few exceptions. I doubled it so it made 8 portions rather than 4, but it could have served 10 with no problem. Luckily, it keeps well and even tastes good cold, so the leftovers have been great. I didn't add vegan sausage and put in 2 roma tomatoes and 12 oz of mushrooms, as one user suggested. It worked well, definitely putting in 2 or 3 more tomatoes next time (if I'm doubling it again). And make sure to cook the pasta al dente. Maybe it was just because I had to wait before serving, but the pasta became a little mushy after everything was mixed together and sitting on the stove on low heat for a while. My guests all loved it and I'm definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very delicious recipe, easy to make. I did not do the sausage and actually instead of the vegetable broth I just used water. I added my own spices, such as seasoned salt and garlic salt and onion powder along with everything else....very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was AWESOME! Followed the advice of other reviwers and steamed the kale. Even my meat loving husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Yum! I tried this recipe with a few modifications and it was delicious and hearty. To boil the lentils, I used 2 cups chicken broth, 1/2 cup white wine, 2 cloves of garlice, and about 3/4 cups water. This kept it moist when I mixed everything together. I also added broccoli and mushrooms, and steamed the kale based on other reviews. I added some adobo and a little curry powder. Instead of vegan sausage I used Bob Evan's sage sausage (sorry, not vegan but good!) These tweaks just suited my taste buds better. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States