Vegan Lemon Poppy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is a very good recipe. It turned out more like a cookie then a scone.. So use half the liquid but keep all the lemon and lemon juice.. so try to cut down on the water and soy milk .I also found vanilla soy milk added more sweetness to it. remember that on more humid and wet days you will require LESS liquid and on dryer days more liquid. So only add small bits at a time. and once it form a giant ball, stop mixing and do what needs to be done to prepare it for cooking. What ever liquid is left, toss it same with what ever dry is left in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
These are delicious and I loved the consistency. I didn't have any lemons on hand so I used an orange and they turned out great. Thanks! I have already made 2 batches this week! They also taste great warm with jam on them like a biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Muffin like consistency, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
delicious. I did not need much liquid at all. come out flat, but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
These scones were very sweet and fresh tasting. However, I had a lot of trouble with the recipe-- maybe my lemons were too juicy, but after adding them the dough was a little too moist even without adding the water or soy milk at all (so I didn't). One batch was totally burned on the bottom after just 10 min at 400 degress, but the texture was very nice. I made another batch at 15 min at 350, and they were flat like cookies (I flipped them halfway through so they wouldn't burn on the bottom). Not sure why...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I made a couple of changes-which changed it to non-vegan: I didn't add so much margarine and instead of white sugar I used equal parts of melted honey and raw sugar...I also added half a handful of sultanas and 1 tsp. of cinammon, 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg and grounded cloves and instead of lemon and lemon zest I used freshly squeezed orange juice. It does taste quite delicious but it has an aftertaste from the baking powder and mine turned out more like a crumbly muffin. Anyway still yum and I've given 5 stars for alot less. I agree with the other members that if you want it to be a scone to cut the liquid down by quite a bit but thats mentioned in the recipe also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This recipe is just great. Very easy to make and my brother is crazy about it. Going to try it again but with different flavouring. on its own - these scones are just too good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This recipe is very innovative and not to meaniton, delicious! I made these for a bake sale as a vegan option and they sold out! Very flavorful and the texture is nice and soft. I highly recommend these to both vegans and non-vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
The taste of these were great, wonderful even. Though they did not act like scones at all. More similar to angel cake in texture, and they didn't rise very much. I did not put in the water at all, only a bit less than half a cup of soy milk, and 2 small lemons rather than one normal one. NOTE, please read!: To all my non-vegan friends, if you make this recipe for your vegan friends and family, DO NOT use normal margarine. It is NOT vegan. Please use 'Earth Balance' which will be in the natural section of your grocery store, or if you cannot find this one where you are, try to find a margarine that says 'lactose free' and read the ingredients to make sure there is no 'whey' or 'casien'. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Mars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This recipe is really yummy especially with lemon curd. I recommend using 1/4 cup instead and baking for ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States