Vegan Lemon Poppy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
What a nice treat. I love the combination of lemon and poppyseeds. I was surprised by how much they spread in the oven, despite my omission of the 1/2 c. water. I think I'll try these again with a touch more flour, less milk, 3t. baking powder instead of 4t., and parchment paper instead of greasing the pan. Thanks for the lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I didn't have poppy seeds, so maybe that was the problem, and I might have added too much liquid because they were quite cake-like, and not very scone-y, Probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These were extremely tasty and my husband devoured them! I used all of the milk but only half of the water in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I made these for a ladies church brunch. They were a hit with everyone and I was beseiged for the recipe. The first batch I followed the directions to the letter. They did look alot like cookies and were softer than I think a "Scone" should be. They still received raves by all. The second batch I tried the suggestion of substituting Orange and Cranberry in the place of the lemon and poppy seed. I also used only soy milk, no water. I made the dough stiffer and rolled it out so I could cut triangles. This worked great. The scones were just a bit heavier but still delightful and soft. this recipe is a real "Keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
my favorite new cookie / dessert recipe. always double the recipe and 1/2 - 3/4 the amt of poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These were really yummy, although i didn't make them vegan (used regular milk and butter). I used whole wheat and still didn't need all the liquid. I will use less next time but my husband loved them and thinks they are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used the main recipe for my guideline and made a few alterations for a different variation. I'm not a huge lemon fan... instead came up with orange cranberry scones. I used orange zest instead of the lemon, substituted fresh squeezed orange juice in place of the water, added 3/4 cup dried cranberries, and a teaspoon of cinnamon. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Make smaller balls on cookie sheet. Add more lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I loved this recipe. The first time I followed it exactly and it was good. Then I messed around with it creating lots of variations including adding rawsugar and less flour with dark choclate to create "dessert" scones that I served with heated and thinned fruit preserves. This is a basic recipe to have on hand and then to play around with till you find perfect variations. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These were great! I used all the soy milk/water because my husband likes the scones more moist and we both laughed because they do look like giant cookies. Defiantly a keeper and a recipe to have fun with. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States