Vegan Lemon Poppy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
The flavor is good, but the texture is not at all scone-like. The reason that they "run" and flatten, is too much sugar as well as too much liquid. (sugar becomes a liquid when it melts in a hot oven) Also, unless you are careful to make these with raw, unprocessed or evaporated cane juice sugar, they are not vegan. White sugar is filtered through charcoal made of animal bones, and so is not vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very yummy! I just halfed the liquid and they came out perfectly! I couldn't eat just one..had two. Yeah, I'm bad! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
There is WAYY too much liquid ingredients added to this recipe. I read the other reviews and took their advice by not adding water. However, I did add all of the soymilk and wish I hadn't. I had to add handful upon handful of flour to be able to work with the sticky liquidy dough... Anyway, these turned out FANTASTIC! I used 1/4 cup of honey and 1/2 cup sugar. I added vegan chocolate chips to half the batch and those were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I made these for a burnch. They turned out flat and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I love this recipe! I've made these about 3 or 4 times and they are so yummy & easy to make. I don't use all of the liquid - about half and it's perfect. I like to refer to these as fluffy cookies :) They are great for a quick breakfast or tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Having read the reviews, I used none of the water. The dough was *still* too wet and the scones spread very flat. Still, the flavor was great, and I will try the recipe again, using Silk creamer and more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
these were soooooo good. they have room for modification, i believe another wrote that. i had to add some more four to make the dough less sticky, and instead of lemons i used orange juice and a little less sugar. i used about 1/2 a cup of oj. i also tried putting jam in the scones: with a teaspoon and butter knife, scrape on to the cookie sheet (i lined mine with wax paper and they lift right off), a dollop of mixture. then place some of your favorite jam into the center of the scone, don't dig it in too much to the center. then drop a little left over dough on top and bake for about 10-12 minutes. they taste great. i made them two days in a row for friends we're staying with and today i'm making more. every time i make them i get exactly 18 scones. loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
margarine is not vegan so I substituted with Earth Balance and the scones still turn out fine and the recipe is then actually vegan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I loved these, however they needed to be a bit more scone like! I am working on different ways to make them so they aren't so soft. Also, you will need something to drink with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very flexible recipe if you want to customize the taste. I barely use a fraction of the amount of liquid suggested, and it still usually turns out more of a cookie than a scone. However, it is very flexible. I don't use vegan ingredients (I prefer real better to margarine and never have soy milk on hand) but I and mine enjoy the lemon poppy version as well as others like raspberry flavoring. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States