Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I read all the reviews and I then read the recipe. The reason why the lasagna is coming out dry is due to the firm tofu the recipe calls for. (ie: the firmer the tofu, the dryer the lasagna) Try a soft tofu instead. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmilti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I read the reviews for this recipe and because a few of them said it was dry and perhaps a bit bland, I did the following: I added dried oregano and soy sausage--broken into small pieces and browned for 5 min--to the sauce. I also decided not to defrost the frozen spinach because I thought that it would add moisture, and I only used one 14oz bag. To the tofu mixture to add some zest and nutrition, I added about two heaping tablespoons of white miso and about 3/4 cup of nutritional yeast. This lasagne turned out perfectly moist and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This was quite good -- and this is coming from a carnivore! :) My Vegan friends loved it, and my "meat and potatoes" wife also found it quite good! My only advice is to stew some additional tomatoes for a serving sauce, as it is a bit dry without it. In this sauce I simply used 2 additional cans of stewed tomatoes, about 2 teaspoons of garlic powder, a crushed clove of garlic and some salt and pepper. It was great! Also, this recipe can probably serve 12 people, so cook accordingly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I make a lasagna almost identical to this, and it is delicious. use firm tofu, but use silken instead of water packed, then it won't be dry. i also found that my first time making this it took me a lot longer than times afterward. I guess i just had to get the hang of making lasagna :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
This is the absolutely best lasagne recipe I have ever made! I tried it while I was removing alot of dairy products from my diet, and this has definitely made my "recipe keeper" list. Best of all, I was able to freeze it in individual portions, and it reheats in the oven beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I found this recipe to be lovely according to the changes I made. I was happy to find a lasagna recipe that was dairy-fee and egg-free but still had to alter it a little more to fit my food allergies by using rice lasagna noodles. The other alterations I made were to cut down prep time, as I prefer quick recipes. So...I used the oven-ready noodles and suggest this for those who found this recipe too time-consuming. I also used a jar of organic robust marinara sauce to avoid the time it takes to make my own sauce. So the only prep I had to do was season the tofu and layer the dish. I added cumin to the tofu mixture and used "Italian Seasoning" in lieu of the basil/parsley. This is exactly what it needed to add flavor. Cumin rounded it all out. I used pre-washed baby spinach leaves and they cooked well in the oven. My cheese-loving-meat-eating-tofu-fearing husband said, "this is good! wait... how did you make this without cheese?" When I told him it was tofu, he turned his nose up and said it wasn't half bad for tofu. So as long as he didn't know what was in it, he loved it. I will make this the same way again. Took me only 10 min to prepare and 45min - 1hr to cook, which couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
I am a vegetarian that loves to cook, and my roommate is a vegan who lives for 5-minute meals and delivery. So I made this for her and two of my close, non-vegan friends. It went over REALLY well, especially with my vegan roommate, who went so far as to call her mom in FL (we're in NYC) to tell her how great it was. My veggie friends really liked it too, as did I. I added a drop of liquid smoke to the "ricotta," which I think made it taste more like cheese. good if you are looking for a substitute that tastes like dairy. Worth the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
try adding up to 1/2 C of nutritional yeast and several tbl fresh lemon juice to the ricotta to make it taste cheesier.... whole foods sells nutritional yeast in bulk and most health food stores carry, its great, expesnive but a little adds tons of flavor and B vitamins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This recipe was a lot of work. I don't mind that, as long as the end result is fantastic - and this one was not. I did not really like it, it just tasted basically like a big pile of stewed tomatoes with spinach. Some changes I would consider are: using (seasoned) spaghetti sauce instead of the whole homemade-sauce-with-stewed-tomatoes business; also I thought about possibly mixing some vegan imitation sour cream with the tofu to try to get a more creamy consistency; it also needs more spices (maybe some vegetable soup mix with the tofu?). I also thought there was WAY too much spinach in this. Note, this did taste better on the second day, but it still needs some changes for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
While this lasagna wasn't quite as good as the "real thing", it was a good vegan alternative. My very non-vegan husband even said it wasn't bad. I used soft tofu/made my own sauce and didn't find the lasagna dry at all. I also added nutritional yeast flakes and some lemon juice as recommended by another reviewer and it made the tofu taste more like cheese. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States