Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This was a good, not great recipe, but with some changes I think it could be excellent: use half the spinach, half the noodles (if you have a regular 13x9 pan like me - I don't know how everyone else fit everything in!), and use whatever thick sauce you like, homemade or jarred. My lasagna came out way too watery - which is weird since everyone seems to complain about the dryness, but again, perhaps it's because i could only fit in half the noodles. And it definitely feeds way more than 8 servings so it'd be great for a large dinner party. A good recipe for a beginning vegan chef to play with :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I make a lasagna almost identical to this, and it is delicious. use firm tofu, but use silken instead of water packed, then it won't be dry. i also found that my first time making this it took me a lot longer than times afterward. I guess i just had to get the hang of making lasagna :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
try adding up to 1/2 C of nutritional yeast and several tbl fresh lemon juice to the ricotta to make it taste cheesier.... whole foods sells nutritional yeast in bulk and most health food stores carry, its great, expesnive but a little adds tons of flavor and B vitamins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I made this for a dinner I catered for the vegan crowd, and they really enjoyed it. I tasted it and personally did not care for it at all, but then I'm not used to eating tofu-heavy foods. Based on the rave reviews from those who do eat vegan, I definitely give this five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I read the reviews for this recipe and because a few of them said it was dry and perhaps a bit bland, I did the following: I added dried oregano and soy sausage--broken into small pieces and browned for 5 min--to the sauce. I also decided not to defrost the frozen spinach because I thought that it would add moisture, and I only used one 14oz bag. To the tofu mixture to add some zest and nutrition, I added about two heaping tablespoons of white miso and about 3/4 cup of nutritional yeast. This lasagne turned out perfectly moist and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
A very delicious sauce makes this a yummy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I am a new vegan. I made this for a womans weekend away. They are all meat eaters and truned there noses up at this. I poped it into the oven and the smell was DEVINE. They all loved it and wanted the recipe. It was a bit bland but that was fine salt and pepper and a side of garlic bread cured that. I will most defintly make this again for sure. It is really good the next day as well. My children and husband (the meat eaters) did not really like but said it looked pretty LOL!!! thanks jessica!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
It looked fine but it didn't taste good at all. The tofu doesn't have enough flavor to substitute for cheese. It needs a lot of good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I made this for myself, but my entire family ended up eating it for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This recipe is REALLY good...we are definitely making this one again. I used whole wheat lasagna noodles and spiced the sauce up a little by adding some Italian spice mix and a bay leaf. Otherwise, the sauce was thick and rich and the final lasagna was very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States