Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I substituted soy cheese for the tofu and added vegan sausage since we are not vegans or vegetarians...just felt like eating something healthier than usual. This lasagna was awesome! I layered the soy cheese in between the layers and on top and it was perfect! (I also didn't use the spinach at all)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I've made a version of this before, as my daughter is lactose intolerant. We loved it, she would have eaten more if it wasn't for the spinach. Whenever I use tofu, I do set it out on a plate with paper towels and then another plate on top and place in the fridge an hour before cooking to drain the water. Always works like a charm, so I did not experience any excess water problems. I used canned sauce for this, and like others, this recipe makes a boat load of pasta. Because I have a 3 year old, I did use rigatoni instead of lasagna noodles and made it into a casserole. Next time, I plan on blending the spinach in order to hide it from my daughter's picky eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Delicious!! I was a little skeptical to start, but now I cant wait for lunch to eat the leftovers! It is very full of flavor. I used diced tomatoes packed in tomato juice instead of stewed, added some left over spaghetti sauce in place of the tomato paste, and added a couple handfuls of diced mushrooms to the saute. I used whole wheat noodles for extra fiber and topped each layer of sauce with a vegan cheese sauce I found online. It turned out very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great recipe! This turned out delicious =) My friends and I are meat eaters but fasting (no meat or animal products) so i thought i'd give this recipe a try. I was skeptical at first since i've never heeard of a lasagna without cheese but this was amazing. As others reviewers suggested i squeezed 1/2 an orange into the tofu mixture, then mixed used one 14oz bag of frozen spinach (thawed) along with a zucchini (shredded) and chopped a red pepper which made for a very good & healthy meal! Thanks for the recipe, this one's a keeper even after the fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
The recipe is good. In terms of moisture, some users suggested not thawing the spinach, and using soft tofu to combat dryness. I suggest you do one or the other because I did both and I had a tasty but amorphous lasagna when I was done! Also, I added ample proprietary Italian seasoning blend and a little cayenne pepper to the tofu and the sauce in addition to the suggested ingredients. It gave it the little spicy spark it needed to take it over the edge of mount delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellemadame16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Woodmere, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I found this recipe to be lovely according to the changes I made. I was happy to find a lasagna recipe that was dairy-fee and egg-free but still had to alter it a little more to fit my food allergies by using rice lasagna noodles. The other alterations I made were to cut down prep time, as I prefer quick recipes. So...I used the oven-ready noodles and suggest this for those who found this recipe too time-consuming. I also used a jar of organic robust marinara sauce to avoid the time it takes to make my own sauce. So the only prep I had to do was season the tofu and layer the dish. I added cumin to the tofu mixture and used "Italian Seasoning" in lieu of the basil/parsley. This is exactly what it needed to add flavor. Cumin rounded it all out. I used pre-washed baby spinach leaves and they cooked well in the oven. My cheese-loving-meat-eating-tofu-fearing husband said, "this is good! wait... how did you make this without cheese?" When I told him it was tofu, he turned his nose up and said it wasn't half bad for tofu. So as long as he didn't know what was in it, he loved it. I will make this the same way again. Took me only 10 min to prepare and 45min - 1hr to cook, which couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jules
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Awesome recipe, but am giving it 3 stars because it could have been better. I didn't have to use all of the tofu mixture-- used 1 lb silken and 1 lb firm tofu. As for the tomato sauce filling, I had a bit of a disaster and for the top 2 layers had to use cans of stewed tomatoes on their own (rather than simmered with the other ingredients), which is probably why it came out so watery even after 40 minutes in the oven. HOWEVER, the next day it is so much better, everything is held together and tastes good, just lacking a particular flavor, maybe soy cheese would help. Over my 3rd tofu layer I sprinkled garlic powder everywhere (yum, that helped.) All stewed tomatoes used were an Italian blend. I also used whole wheat lasagna noodles and am glad it turned out. You definitely do NOT need to use much spinach, I used about half of a 16oz pkg. I've made this once before- a worse experience, and am going to keep making this until I perfect it! PS: non-vegan, tofu hating people can't tell this is made w/ tofu. They like it a lot. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I have to agree with the most of the comments that it came out a little bland. There's also too much green i.e. the spinach that my meat-eating fiance can handle. Next time, I'll bring it down to one package of spinach. There was actually extra sauce (my pan was a tiny bit smaller than recommended) and I used it on some pasta for a guest and he loved it. So the "blandness" is coming somewhere from either the tofu mix, noodles, or spinach. I'm gonna have to play around it to balance it out. Otherwise, I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I followed the recipe very closely and it came out perfect. Not too dry not to wet and extremely flavorful! I read the other reviews and I didn't have any trouble using the firm tofu. In fact I used slightly more than the recipe called for. Next time I will use freshly steamed spinach. (I hated dealing with the frozen) That may be why I didn't have trouble with it being dry, I didn't wring out the spinach, I just let it drain in a colander for about 15 minutes. So it was still pretty wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
i made this for my son who is allergic to dairy. I found that it was missing the traditional flavors that real lasagna has but my son loved it and to me that is a huge thumbs up. If you are looking for a lasagna with out dairy this is the recipe to use. It was great just don't expect it to taste like real lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States