Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
The recipe is good. In terms of moisture, some users suggested not thawing the spinach, and using soft tofu to combat dryness. I suggest you do one or the other because I did both and I had a tasty but amorphous lasagna when I was done! Also, I added ample proprietary Italian seasoning blend and a little cayenne pepper to the tofu and the sauce in addition to the suggested ingredients. It gave it the little spicy spark it needed to take it over the edge of mount delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellemadame16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Woodmere, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I found this recipe to be lovely according to the changes I made. I was happy to find a lasagna recipe that was dairy-fee and egg-free but still had to alter it a little more to fit my food allergies by using rice lasagna noodles. The other alterations I made were to cut down prep time, as I prefer quick recipes. So...I used the oven-ready noodles and suggest this for those who found this recipe too time-consuming. I also used a jar of organic robust marinara sauce to avoid the time it takes to make my own sauce. So the only prep I had to do was season the tofu and layer the dish. I added cumin to the tofu mixture and used "Italian Seasoning" in lieu of the basil/parsley. This is exactly what it needed to add flavor. Cumin rounded it all out. I used pre-washed baby spinach leaves and they cooked well in the oven. My cheese-loving-meat-eating-tofu-fearing husband said, "this is good! wait... how did you make this without cheese?" When I told him it was tofu, he turned his nose up and said it wasn't half bad for tofu. So as long as he didn't know what was in it, he loved it. I will make this the same way again. Took me only 10 min to prepare and 45min - 1hr to cook, which couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jules
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Awesome recipe, but am giving it 3 stars because it could have been better. I didn't have to use all of the tofu mixture-- used 1 lb silken and 1 lb firm tofu. As for the tomato sauce filling, I had a bit of a disaster and for the top 2 layers had to use cans of stewed tomatoes on their own (rather than simmered with the other ingredients), which is probably why it came out so watery even after 40 minutes in the oven. HOWEVER, the next day it is so much better, everything is held together and tastes good, just lacking a particular flavor, maybe soy cheese would help. Over my 3rd tofu layer I sprinkled garlic powder everywhere (yum, that helped.) All stewed tomatoes used were an Italian blend. I also used whole wheat lasagna noodles and am glad it turned out. You definitely do NOT need to use much spinach, I used about half of a 16oz pkg. I've made this once before- a worse experience, and am going to keep making this until I perfect it! PS: non-vegan, tofu hating people can't tell this is made w/ tofu. They like it a lot. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I have to agree with the most of the comments that it came out a little bland. There's also too much green i.e. the spinach that my meat-eating fiance can handle. Next time, I'll bring it down to one package of spinach. There was actually extra sauce (my pan was a tiny bit smaller than recommended) and I used it on some pasta for a guest and he loved it. So the "blandness" is coming somewhere from either the tofu mix, noodles, or spinach. I'm gonna have to play around it to balance it out. Otherwise, I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I followed the recipe very closely and it came out perfect. Not too dry not to wet and extremely flavorful! I read the other reviews and I didn't have any trouble using the firm tofu. In fact I used slightly more than the recipe called for. Next time I will use freshly steamed spinach. (I hated dealing with the frozen) That may be why I didn't have trouble with it being dry, I didn't wring out the spinach, I just let it drain in a colander for about 15 minutes. So it was still pretty wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
i made this for my son who is allergic to dairy. I found that it was missing the traditional flavors that real lasagna has but my son loved it and to me that is a huge thumbs up. If you are looking for a lasagna with out dairy this is the recipe to use. It was great just don't expect it to taste like real lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Im am not vegan, but 2 of my good friends are & I wanted to have them over for dinner. So I made it & it was good. They really liked it. My boyfriend & I ate it, and it was good, but it just made us yearn for meat & cheese lasagna!!! Id recommend it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCatrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I am very happy with this recipe and made it in 5 minutes with a few adjustments. I used 1/2 Giant Costco can of tomato sauce, threw in some oregano, rosemary, thyme, cayenne, black pepper, and crushed garlic. One giant scoop Cosco sun-dried tomatoes. between layers of sauce, uncooked pasta, raw organic pre-washed baby spinach, and tofu and squeezed 1/2 of an orange. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
this was actually lovely i thought it may be bland but it's tasty i did have to add some more crushed tomatoes to sauce cos it wasn't enough.i didn't cook the pasta first i never have for lasange its always come out cooked perfect.thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I have 2 children who can not have any milk products and my son has always wanted to have lasagna. I myself was afraid to try a soy based dish. We found this recipe and it was a hit. I did not find it dry at all , also I love cheese and this was a nice change. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States