Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
Just what I was looking for..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
This recipe turned out so great my meat-eating friends took home a copy of the recipe for themselves! I added zucchini, red bell and onion in with the spinach and it turned out delicious! The recipe makes a HUGE batch. The serving for 8 recipe could easily serve 12-16.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
This recipe was way too dry. If I try it another time, I would put more tomatoes and a little olive oil in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEDIANNIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vail, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
This is the absolutely best lasagne recipe I have ever made! I tried it while I was removing alot of dairy products from my diet, and this has definitely made my "recipe keeper" list. Best of all, I was able to freeze it in individual portions, and it reheats in the oven beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
Made this for some vegan friends and we all thought it was very good. I cut the recipe basically in half and added a zucchini and bell pepper chopped up with the spinach as suggested by someone. I still found it quite dry when I was done assembling all the ingredients so added a pint of my home canned tomatoes, after whirling in the blender, over the top and it was a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This was quite good -- and this is coming from a carnivore! :) My Vegan friends loved it, and my "meat and potatoes" wife also found it quite good! My only advice is to stew some additional tomatoes for a serving sauce, as it is a bit dry without it. In this sauce I simply used 2 additional cans of stewed tomatoes, about 2 teaspoons of garlic powder, a crushed clove of garlic and some salt and pepper. It was great! Also, this recipe can probably serve 12 people, so cook accordingly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
I am a vegetarian that loves to cook, and my roommate is a vegan who lives for 5-minute meals and delivery. So I made this for her and two of my close, non-vegan friends. It went over REALLY well, especially with my vegan roommate, who went so far as to call her mom in FL (we're in NYC) to tell her how great it was. My veggie friends really liked it too, as did I. I added a drop of liquid smoke to the "ricotta," which I think made it taste more like cheese. good if you are looking for a substitute that tastes like dairy. Worth the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I read all the reviews and I then read the recipe. The reason why the lasagna is coming out dry is due to the firm tofu the recipe calls for. (ie: the firmer the tofu, the dryer the lasagna) Try a soft tofu instead. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmilti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I made this for myself and parents, we all loved it! A definite keeper, I didn't find it too dry, but the tofu I had wasn't clearly marked, so it's entirely possible that my tofu was softer than the recipe called for. My mom (who helped me make it) added some dried basil and parsley to the tomato sauce. Conclusion: DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This recipe was a lot of work. I don't mind that, as long as the end result is fantastic - and this one was not. I did not really like it, it just tasted basically like a big pile of stewed tomatoes with spinach. Some changes I would consider are: using (seasoned) spaghetti sauce instead of the whole homemade-sauce-with-stewed-tomatoes business; also I thought about possibly mixing some vegan imitation sour cream with the tofu to try to get a more creamy consistency; it also needs more spices (maybe some vegetable soup mix with the tofu?). I also thought there was WAY too much spinach in this. Note, this did taste better on the second day, but it still needs some changes for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States