Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
It looked fine but it didn't taste good at all. The tofu doesn't have enough flavor to substitute for cheese. It needs a lot of good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I made this for myself, but my entire family ended up eating it for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This recipe is REALLY good...we are definitely making this one again. I used whole wheat lasagna noodles and spiced the sauce up a little by adding some Italian spice mix and a bay leaf. Otherwise, the sauce was thick and rich and the final lasagna was very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
LOVED this recipe! Will make again. I used canned spaghetti sauce (I'm lazy.), and added the fresh spices directly to the tofu. Next time I may add mushrooms to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This was my second vegan recipe ever, and the most complex (although it wasn't hard--I've just never made a lasagne before.) My family loved it. One of the meat eaters commented on the cottage cheese, then had to ask what the "white stuff" was. :-) It served three adults and three kids with lots left to freeze for later. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This is wonderful...I made it for a dinner party of all meat eaters and everyone loved it! No one missed the cheese at all. I added soy chunk to the sauce to give it a meater consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
I have only made this twice but both times the reviews I got from friends and family were worth it!! I added more veggies to the sauce along with diced tomatoes and sauteed some veggies to go with the spinach. I also added Sage to the tofu, sauce and sauteed veggies... Huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This recipe was a lot of work. I don't mind that, as long as the end result is fantastic - and this one was not. I did not really like it, it just tasted basically like a big pile of stewed tomatoes with spinach. Some changes I would consider are: using (seasoned) spaghetti sauce instead of the whole homemade-sauce-with-stewed-tomatoes business; also I thought about possibly mixing some vegan imitation sour cream with the tofu to try to get a more creamy consistency; it also needs more spices (maybe some vegetable soup mix with the tofu?). I also thought there was WAY too much spinach in this. Note, this did taste better on the second day, but it still needs some changes for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I made this for myself and parents, we all loved it! A definite keeper, I didn't find it too dry, but the tofu I had wasn't clearly marked, so it's entirely possible that my tofu was softer than the recipe called for. My mom (who helped me make it) added some dried basil and parsley to the tomato sauce. Conclusion: DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I read all the reviews and I then read the recipe. The reason why the lasagna is coming out dry is due to the firm tofu the recipe calls for. (ie: the firmer the tofu, the dryer the lasagna) Try a soft tofu instead. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmilti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States