Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I made this for my dad, who is a vegan. He loved it, as did the rest of the family, even the meat eaters. It is even better reheated the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I didn't actually eat any of this, but my vegan daughter really enjoyed it. I used rice noodles that I didn't have to boil ahead of time. Two packages of spinach were enough. I sauteed the onion with some red bell pepper and mushrooms, which gave it more flavor, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
If I made this again, it would be with revisions. (peacedragon has some good ideas, for starters.) It wasn't bad, but it was on the bland side. Also, I used extra firm tofu and frozen spinach (20 oz instead of 30), unthawed, because so many people suggested that because theirs turned out dry. Well, mine turned out soupy! It didn't hold together well at all. One pro was the tomato sauce. This was my first time making any, and it turned out GREAT. (I added about 3/4 cup red wine to deglaze the pan after sauteing the onions and garlic, but still.) So, like another reviewer wrote, the blandness ISN'T coming from the sauce. Despite it not turning out great, the idea of a vegan lasagna is still pretty appealing, though, so I'll be playing around with this. By the way, you might not think it because this dish is vegan, but it makes a VERY filling meal. You're not going to be poking around in the kitchen looking for a snack after eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I used the filling recipe to go with my own sauce. The filling turned out great, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spidermonkey555
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was a delicious recipe. I loved how easy it was to modify. I brought the recipe down to 4 servings on the calculator and used an 8x8 glass dish to bake. I found that with an 8x8 pan I only used 6 lasagna noodles and had 3 layers of noodles. It was very easy to cut, slicing right down the space between the noodles and the cutting in half, forming 6 large servings (not 4 like the calculator says). It's very easy to taste as you go, adding more of whatever your tastes are. I added a tsp. of garlic powder to the tofu mixture because we love garlic. I probably added more of the basil and parsley, simply because I hate measuring fresh herbs. :) The sauce was delicious and this will become a staple for the weekends. I let the sauce simmer while I was readying the tofu, pasta, setting the table ect. I did not cover mine with aluminum foil and there was no boil over, even though my pan was maxed out. I turned it around in the over 1/2 way through the 30 minute cooking time. I will increase to 35 mintues next time due to the thickness of my layers. I recommend this recipe for those who want to impress someone with a vegan lasagna. Heavenly goodness. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spidermonkey555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
LOVED this recipe! Will make again. I used canned spaghetti sauce (I'm lazy.), and added the fresh spices directly to the tofu. Next time I may add mushrooms to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was an excellant vegan lasagna. I've made a couple of different ones and this one is better by far. Instead of the spinach, (since I was out), I stir fried the onion with green and red peppers in olive oil and garlic and then added it to the layering. It was scrumptous! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I made this yesterday to taste test for my office potluck lunch later this week. In an office of 13, 3 of us are vegan and I want to make a dish that will fill us up but I can also serve to the others that think and have no problem telling us that soy products are disgusting. I made a few changes to suit my taste like using half stewed and half diced tomatoes in the sauce. I used only 1 box of spinach because it is not my favorite and added a diced red pepper for sweetness. For the version I will make for work, I think I'll also add diced portobello mushrooms for a more meaty texture and I'm considering adding some TVP to the sauce to try to trick the carnivors into believing they are not missing out on their precious meat. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I loved this lasagna recipe. I did not cook the noodles ahead of time. There was plenty of moisture in the sauce to cook the noodles for me. So preparation was easier. Leftovers were better and better as each day went by! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was awesome! I did make a few of my own adjustments. I added mushrooms, zucchini, red bell pepper & near the end melted soy cheese on top. Also I used 4 cans of 28oz stewed tomatoes. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States