Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This tofu ricotta is AMAZING!!! Thank you so much for this recipe. I use my own sauce recipe, but was having difficulty with the ricotta translation into vegan, but this was wonderful...even my non-vegan friends loved it!!! IT WAS BANGIN'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was the first vegan meal I have made and I loved it. I did use canned organic sauce to save on time. The firm tofu worked great and the lasagna came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very tasty! I used store bought pasta sauce and oven ready noodles. I put the tofu in the food processor with fresh spinach/carrots and got a creamy ricotta cheese like texture. I also probably added more spices than called for. It tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I bought 2 lbs of firm tofu before I read the reviews. So I just put them in the food processor and ran it till smooth (like ricotta). Added the onion and garlic to the processor and mixed it in that way. It must of worked because the lasagna was not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
My kids were suspicious when they saw all the spinach going into this recipe, but they loved it and cleaned out the pan. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This lasagna was awesome, though I did make a couple of tweaks to each layer: I used fresh spinach instead of frozen and also added a bunch of kale. I chopped it pretty fine in a large food processor and then sautéed it with onion & garlic while the sauce was going. For the tofu layer I added nutritional yeast, and I also added a very small amount of apple cider vinegar to cut the red sauce before it cooked through (probably used more tomato paste than called for, too). Instead of regular-boil noodles, I used flat no-boil lasagna sheets, which seemed to hold together the layers really well. With these slight alterations, the flavors & consistency were perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyrose4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This recipe was very good! I used organic, fire-roasted, diced tomatoes instead of just plain stewed tomatoes and added a bit more basil and salt and pepper, but it is DEFINITELY a keeper and one to try modifiying. My husband and I talked about adding a vegan sausage and/or hot pepper flakes (he LOVES spicy!), but it truly was good just as teh recipe was written!. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
tasty and even tastier the next day. 2nd time around i used pureed roasted eggplang, carrots and zuccini into the tomato sauce to make it thicker and add more secret veggies for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi Sturgess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by KarenCanCook
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I have made this lasagna many times. It is an awesome recipe. There are a few things that I do to combat the blandness. First, I drain and marinade the tofu in dill, thyme, red pepper flakes and salt. I also marinade the drained spinach the same way. In addition, when cooking the tomato sauce, I brown the onions (including some green onions!) and deglaze the pan with the tomato sauce. I add salt, thyme, pepper, red pepper flakes, oregano and dill to the sauce and let it simmer. Towards the end of the simmer, I may add a little sugar or maple syrup to combat the bitter taste that some sauces can have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I used soy ground beef instead of tofu, and I loved it. I made this with a group of non-vegans, and they enjoyed it too. It takes a while to cook but is perfect for a large group. It tasted so good. I might have made slightly more of the sauce. Only slightly more. I also recommend putting nutritional yeast in it and sprinkling some on top to add a nice, cheesy flavor. This certainly was the best lasagna I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States