Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I am very much a carnivore - but am also Russian Orthodox, being lent and abstaining from meat and dairy products... I found this recipe very satisfying! I changed a few things to save time. Bought two jars of organic tomato sauce ea. were 24.5oz (instead of making the sauce), added zucchini, mushrooms, red and green peppers, and dried red pepper flakes for a little kick. I also bought no-boil lasagna and let the dish sit overnight in the fridge. It took me about 1/2 an hour for the washing and cutting of vegetables and assembly + 45 mins for bake time at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Delicious! I added some veggie protein crumbles for a more heartier taste and it was perfect! Thanks for this recipe. Will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Was pretty good! The tofu was really watery and it took awhile to cook. The next time I made it I didn't cook the noodles and that helped a lot. Added some vegan rice cheese at the end and yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I made this for my dad, who is a vegan. He loved it, as did the rest of the family, even the meat eaters. It is even better reheated the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I didn't actually eat any of this, but my vegan daughter really enjoyed it. I used rice noodles that I didn't have to boil ahead of time. Two packages of spinach were enough. I sauteed the onion with some red bell pepper and mushrooms, which gave it more flavor, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
If I made this again, it would be with revisions. (peacedragon has some good ideas, for starters.) It wasn't bad, but it was on the bland side. Also, I used extra firm tofu and frozen spinach (20 oz instead of 30), unthawed, because so many people suggested that because theirs turned out dry. Well, mine turned out soupy! It didn't hold together well at all. One pro was the tomato sauce. This was my first time making any, and it turned out GREAT. (I added about 3/4 cup red wine to deglaze the pan after sauteing the onions and garlic, but still.) So, like another reviewer wrote, the blandness ISN'T coming from the sauce. Despite it not turning out great, the idea of a vegan lasagna is still pretty appealing, though, so I'll be playing around with this. By the way, you might not think it because this dish is vegan, but it makes a VERY filling meal. You're not going to be poking around in the kitchen looking for a snack after eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I used the filling recipe to go with my own sauce. The filling turned out great, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spidermonkey555
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was a delicious recipe. I loved how easy it was to modify. I brought the recipe down to 4 servings on the calculator and used an 8x8 glass dish to bake. I found that with an 8x8 pan I only used 6 lasagna noodles and had 3 layers of noodles. It was very easy to cut, slicing right down the space between the noodles and the cutting in half, forming 6 large servings (not 4 like the calculator says). It's very easy to taste as you go, adding more of whatever your tastes are. I added a tsp. of garlic powder to the tofu mixture because we love garlic. I probably added more of the basil and parsley, simply because I hate measuring fresh herbs. :) The sauce was delicious and this will become a staple for the weekends. I let the sauce simmer while I was readying the tofu, pasta, setting the table ect. I did not cover mine with aluminum foil and there was no boil over, even though my pan was maxed out. I turned it around in the over 1/2 way through the 30 minute cooking time. I will increase to 35 mintues next time due to the thickness of my layers. I recommend this recipe for those who want to impress someone with a vegan lasagna. Heavenly goodness. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spidermonkey555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
LOVED this recipe! Will make again. I used canned spaghetti sauce (I'm lazy.), and added the fresh spices directly to the tofu. Next time I may add mushrooms to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was an excellant vegan lasagna. I've made a couple of different ones and this one is better by far. Instead of the spinach, (since I was out), I stir fried the onion with green and red peppers in olive oil and garlic and then added it to the layering. It was scrumptous! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States