Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
my two children who are picky eaters--5 and 2 ate this and LOVED it and even my meat eating husband LOVED it! I used only one thing of tofu and then sprinkled some parmesean cheese on top too. I didn't have spinach so I used broccoli. Def will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
The recipe is good. I would suggest making a roux with the tofu by making a basic white sauce with unsweetened soy beverage. Mash the tofu until smooth then add it to the white sauce. Add the rest of the ingredients and continue with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is a Delitious recipie. pluss i love that i could find a vegan lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
While this lasagna wasn't quite as good as the "real thing", it was a good vegan alternative. My very non-vegan husband even said it wasn't bad. I used soft tofu/made my own sauce and didn't find the lasagna dry at all. I also added nutritional yeast flakes and some lemon juice as recommended by another reviewer and it made the tofu taste more like cheese. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This lasagna will truly test the limits of your 9x13 dish. As it is I noshed on wet noodles and drained a little of the water out of the tomato sauce and still had to jam a pan under the dish to safeguard against leakage - which happened, minimally. Speaking of which, no matter how ridiculously much sauce you end up having, don't throw any away or you'll end up with a dry, intensely uncreamy lasagna. Beyond that fact, the lasagna pretty much just tasted of parsley and basil layered between squishy levels of tofu and tasteless spinach. It tasted like a two-star recipe, but I admit I goofed over the tomato sauce, so I'll err on the side of three stars here. I'm NOT a vegan, so maybe a different set of standards would find this more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I just made this for my family and we all love it. I like to find different ways to cook for the man of the house and this recipe is a winner in our books. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This was a good, not great recipe, but with some changes I think it could be excellent: use half the spinach, half the noodles (if you have a regular 13x9 pan like me - I don't know how everyone else fit everything in!), and use whatever thick sauce you like, homemade or jarred. My lasagna came out way too watery - which is weird since everyone seems to complain about the dryness, but again, perhaps it's because i could only fit in half the noodles. And it definitely feeds way more than 8 servings so it'd be great for a large dinner party. A good recipe for a beginning vegan chef to play with :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I make a lasagna almost identical to this, and it is delicious. use firm tofu, but use silken instead of water packed, then it won't be dry. i also found that my first time making this it took me a lot longer than times afterward. I guess i just had to get the hang of making lasagna :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
try adding up to 1/2 C of nutritional yeast and several tbl fresh lemon juice to the ricotta to make it taste cheesier.... whole foods sells nutritional yeast in bulk and most health food stores carry, its great, expesnive but a little adds tons of flavor and B vitamins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I made this for a dinner I catered for the vegan crowd, and they really enjoyed it. I tasted it and personally did not care for it at all, but then I'm not used to eating tofu-heavy foods. Based on the rave reviews from those who do eat vegan, I definitely give this five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States