Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I am very happy with this recipe and made it in 5 minutes with a few adjustments. I used 1/2 Giant Costco can of tomato sauce, threw in some oregano, rosemary, thyme, cayenne, black pepper, and crushed garlic. One giant scoop Cosco sun-dried tomatoes. between layers of sauce, uncooked pasta, raw organic pre-washed baby spinach, and tofu and squeezed 1/2 of an orange. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
this was actually lovely i thought it may be bland but it's tasty i did have to add some more crushed tomatoes to sauce cos it wasn't enough.i didn't cook the pasta first i never have for lasange its always come out cooked perfect.thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I have 2 children who can not have any milk products and my son has always wanted to have lasagna. I myself was afraid to try a soy based dish. We found this recipe and it was a hit. I did not find it dry at all , also I love cheese and this was a nice change. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
my two children who are picky eaters--5 and 2 ate this and LOVED it and even my meat eating husband LOVED it! I used only one thing of tofu and then sprinkled some parmesean cheese on top too. I didn't have spinach so I used broccoli. Def will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
The recipe is good. I would suggest making a roux with the tofu by making a basic white sauce with unsweetened soy beverage. Mash the tofu until smooth then add it to the white sauce. Add the rest of the ingredients and continue with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is a Delitious recipie. pluss i love that i could find a vegan lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
While this lasagna wasn't quite as good as the "real thing", it was a good vegan alternative. My very non-vegan husband even said it wasn't bad. I used soft tofu/made my own sauce and didn't find the lasagna dry at all. I also added nutritional yeast flakes and some lemon juice as recommended by another reviewer and it made the tofu taste more like cheese. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This lasagna will truly test the limits of your 9x13 dish. As it is I noshed on wet noodles and drained a little of the water out of the tomato sauce and still had to jam a pan under the dish to safeguard against leakage - which happened, minimally. Speaking of which, no matter how ridiculously much sauce you end up having, don't throw any away or you'll end up with a dry, intensely uncreamy lasagna. Beyond that fact, the lasagna pretty much just tasted of parsley and basil layered between squishy levels of tofu and tasteless spinach. It tasted like a two-star recipe, but I admit I goofed over the tomato sauce, so I'll err on the side of three stars here. I'm NOT a vegan, so maybe a different set of standards would find this more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I just made this for my family and we all love it. I like to find different ways to cook for the man of the house and this recipe is a winner in our books. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This was a good, not great recipe, but with some changes I think it could be excellent: use half the spinach, half the noodles (if you have a regular 13x9 pan like me - I don't know how everyone else fit everything in!), and use whatever thick sauce you like, homemade or jarred. My lasagna came out way too watery - which is weird since everyone seems to complain about the dryness, but again, perhaps it's because i could only fit in half the noodles. And it definitely feeds way more than 8 servings so it'd be great for a large dinner party. A good recipe for a beginning vegan chef to play with :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States