Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I used the filling recipe to go with my own sauce. The filling turned out great, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spidermonkey555
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was a delicious recipe. I loved how easy it was to modify. I brought the recipe down to 4 servings on the calculator and used an 8x8 glass dish to bake. I found that with an 8x8 pan I only used 6 lasagna noodles and had 3 layers of noodles. It was very easy to cut, slicing right down the space between the noodles and the cutting in half, forming 6 large servings (not 4 like the calculator says). It's very easy to taste as you go, adding more of whatever your tastes are. I added a tsp. of garlic powder to the tofu mixture because we love garlic. I probably added more of the basil and parsley, simply because I hate measuring fresh herbs. :) The sauce was delicious and this will become a staple for the weekends. I let the sauce simmer while I was readying the tofu, pasta, setting the table ect. I did not cover mine with aluminum foil and there was no boil over, even though my pan was maxed out. I turned it around in the over 1/2 way through the 30 minute cooking time. I will increase to 35 mintues next time due to the thickness of my layers. I recommend this recipe for those who want to impress someone with a vegan lasagna. Heavenly goodness. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spidermonkey555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
LOVED this recipe! Will make again. I used canned spaghetti sauce (I'm lazy.), and added the fresh spices directly to the tofu. Next time I may add mushrooms to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was an excellant vegan lasagna. I've made a couple of different ones and this one is better by far. Instead of the spinach, (since I was out), I stir fried the onion with green and red peppers in olive oil and garlic and then added it to the layering. It was scrumptous! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I made this yesterday to taste test for my office potluck lunch later this week. In an office of 13, 3 of us are vegan and I want to make a dish that will fill us up but I can also serve to the others that think and have no problem telling us that soy products are disgusting. I made a few changes to suit my taste like using half stewed and half diced tomatoes in the sauce. I used only 1 box of spinach because it is not my favorite and added a diced red pepper for sweetness. For the version I will make for work, I think I'll also add diced portobello mushrooms for a more meaty texture and I'm considering adding some TVP to the sauce to try to trick the carnivors into believing they are not missing out on their precious meat. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I loved this lasagna recipe. I did not cook the noodles ahead of time. There was plenty of moisture in the sauce to cook the noodles for me. So preparation was easier. Leftovers were better and better as each day went by! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was awesome! I did make a few of my own adjustments. I added mushrooms, zucchini, red bell pepper & near the end melted soy cheese on top. Also I used 4 cans of 28oz stewed tomatoes. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I substituted soy cheese for the tofu and added vegan sausage since we are not vegans or vegetarians...just felt like eating something healthier than usual. This lasagna was awesome! I layered the soy cheese in between the layers and on top and it was perfect! (I also didn't use the spinach at all)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I've made a version of this before, as my daughter is lactose intolerant. We loved it, she would have eaten more if it wasn't for the spinach. Whenever I use tofu, I do set it out on a plate with paper towels and then another plate on top and place in the fridge an hour before cooking to drain the water. Always works like a charm, so I did not experience any excess water problems. I used canned sauce for this, and like others, this recipe makes a boat load of pasta. Because I have a 3 year old, I did use rigatoni instead of lasagna noodles and made it into a casserole. Next time, I plan on blending the spinach in order to hide it from my daughter's picky eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Delicious!! I was a little skeptical to start, but now I cant wait for lunch to eat the leftovers! It is very full of flavor. I used diced tomatoes packed in tomato juice instead of stewed, added some left over spaghetti sauce in place of the tomato paste, and added a couple handfuls of diced mushrooms to the saute. I used whole wheat noodles for extra fiber and topped each layer of sauce with a vegan cheese sauce I found online. It turned out very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States