Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I used soy ground beef instead of tofu, and I loved it. I made this with a group of non-vegans, and they enjoyed it too. It takes a while to cook but is perfect for a large group. It tasted so good. I might have made slightly more of the sauce. Only slightly more. I also recommend putting nutritional yeast in it and sprinkling some on top to add a nice, cheesy flavor. This certainly was the best lasagna I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This is just the recipe I need. My vegan friend has been asking me so thank you very much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sillydisko
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This recipe is amazing for people with allergies! I followed the whole recipe (sauce making is time consuming). I recalculated the recipe to serve 4 (but in reality it serves a lot more, if you portion it about 2"X3", there will be about 12 portions). I bought all ingredients @Henry's and everything was about $20 (and it was all organic). I used 2 packages of the silken firm tofu. I also used fresh baby spinach, sliced mushrooms and sliced zucchini to add to the recipe. As well as cayenne and crushed red pepper in the sauce to add a little kick to it. After reading the reviews, I was afraid my lasagna would be either too runny or too dry. I will have to say, I did run out of tofu mixture and the sauce. By the last layer, I had maybe a ladle left to cover the 9X13 space. I suggest saving enough sauce and tofu mixture for the top layer because the sauce will eventually drip down to the bottom of the pan and the tofu mixture will seal that top layer. I attempted to find 'dairy-free' veggie cheese for the top layer. If you are a vegan or have dairy allergies, there is casein/whey (milk protein) in those. So it's not really dairy-free. Don't be fooled! Read the labels on your cheese! This lasagna was served to: one with egg, dairy, nut and shellfish allergies, one with lactose intolerance and a typical eat-anything male (which by the way, had no idea it was vegan) :p Great with red wine! (cabernet) Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillydisko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
good recipe - loved by vegans and vegetarians, even carnivores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I am very much a carnivore - but am also Russian Orthodox, being lent and abstaining from meat and dairy products... I found this recipe very satisfying! I changed a few things to save time. Bought two jars of organic tomato sauce ea. were 24.5oz (instead of making the sauce), added zucchini, mushrooms, red and green peppers, and dried red pepper flakes for a little kick. I also bought no-boil lasagna and let the dish sit overnight in the fridge. It took me about 1/2 an hour for the washing and cutting of vegetables and assembly + 45 mins for bake time at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Delicious! I added some veggie protein crumbles for a more heartier taste and it was perfect! Thanks for this recipe. Will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Was pretty good! The tofu was really watery and it took awhile to cook. The next time I made it I didn't cook the noodles and that helped a lot. Added some vegan rice cheese at the end and yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I made this for my dad, who is a vegan. He loved it, as did the rest of the family, even the meat eaters. It is even better reheated the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I didn't actually eat any of this, but my vegan daughter really enjoyed it. I used rice noodles that I didn't have to boil ahead of time. Two packages of spinach were enough. I sauteed the onion with some red bell pepper and mushrooms, which gave it more flavor, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
If I made this again, it would be with revisions. (peacedragon has some good ideas, for starters.) It wasn't bad, but it was on the bland side. Also, I used extra firm tofu and frozen spinach (20 oz instead of 30), unthawed, because so many people suggested that because theirs turned out dry. Well, mine turned out soupy! It didn't hold together well at all. One pro was the tomato sauce. This was my first time making any, and it turned out GREAT. (I added about 3/4 cup red wine to deglaze the pan after sauteing the onions and garlic, but still.) So, like another reviewer wrote, the blandness ISN'T coming from the sauce. Despite it not turning out great, the idea of a vegan lasagna is still pretty appealing, though, so I'll be playing around with this. By the way, you might not think it because this dish is vegan, but it makes a VERY filling meal. You're not going to be poking around in the kitchen looking for a snack after eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States