Vegan Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Good base recipe. Substitute canned crushed tomatoes for the stewed to get a thicker, richer tomato taste. I use San Marzano when I can get them. Add a pinch or two of dried oregano to the sauce while simmering so the sauce tastes more "Italian". I always add a small pinch of red pepper flakes to tomato sauce to give it some zing, but not enough for serious heat. Thoroughly mix a pinch of salt, pepper, and ground nutmeg into the spinach before layering. I don't use firm tofu for recipes like this. Firm tofu is much better for a stir fry or saute. I would use soft tofu (I've used it on pizza) and I would probably bump up the seasonings added to the tofu just a touch for more flavor. Taste everything as you're making this. If something seems too bland add more herbs and seasonings to taste. The biggest problem with vegan food (and the reason non-vegans often refuse to eat it) is that it's always under-seasoned. Herbs and spices are vegan. Use them with a free hand. Just watch out for the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipe was pretty amazing. I added veggie ground to the sauce to "beef it up"..but followed the rest to the T. It was really awesome and nearly un-noticable from regular lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreyw22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Amazing recipe! I wasn't sure about tofu in place of ricotta cheese but the texture and appearance is exactly the same. My husband never knew he was eating tofu! He even went back for left overs the following day! The only change I made was the serving size. I changed it to 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was wonderful! I've never made a vegan lasagna before and dove into the challenge for my work Christmas party. No one missed the cheese at all! I'm a Health Coach and Personal Trainer so this was the perfect main attraction. It went fast. Thank you so much for sharing! I'll be sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made this recipe adding rice mozzarella, soft tofu, vegan Italian sausage and vegan parmesan. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wall, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was super delicious! I tweaked this some based on prior reviews and to save some time. I cut the recipe in half because I had only a shallow pan. I used the no boil noodles, jar and a half of spaghetti sauce, and fresh baby spinach instead of frozen. I added mushrooms in the layers for some meatiness. For the tofu I added cumin and red pepper flakes for heat, and a tablespoon of minced garlic from a jar. The tofu crumbles taste SO good, very similar to ricotta. I did not have any problem with dryness using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Yummiest ever! I followed the recipe exactly and I looooove it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is an awesome recipe! I made this for a dinner party, and all my non-vegan friends adored it :) I added vegan mayonnaise to the tofu until it reached the consistency of ricotta, which may have prevented the dish from becoming too dry. I also added some vegan mozzarella cheese for additional flavor. Hope this helps! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Tip: Leave the liquid from the tofu, blend it all in a blender/food processor - it comes out almost exactly like ricotta - some people who ate it actually thought it was cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I made this recipe tonight with a couple of changes. I used cilantro instead of parsley and mushrooms instead of spinach. It was delicious. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States