Vegan Hot and Sour Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Loved it. Really! Things I left out: wood ear mushrooms; tiger lily buds, bamboo fungus, tofu, white pepper, dried mushrooms, and chili oil. Things I added: entire package of shitake mushrooms (about 6 oz), a quarter cup of miso, about 6 oz thick Chinese noodles, Sriracha to taste, and some leftover water chestnuts. I think you could do almost anything with this recipe and it would work well... more veggies, add chicken (if you eat meat), etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riverstone-Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 333
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Great recipe...I added fresh garlic,ginger,and smoked pepper cloves in place of the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very good recipe, as good or better than from a restaurant. I did not have wood ear or shitake and so I just sliced up some regular mushrooms... Also, like a few of the other reviewers, I did not use the bamboo fungus or lilly buds. I substituted bamboo shoots for the fungus, but found out afterwards that bamboo fungus is actually a type of mushroom that grows on bamboo. You can find it at an Asian grocery store - it is dried, looks like pasta noodles, and is called "long net stinkhorn". Also, if you did not already know, to make the soup "crackers" that are served in Chinese restaurant, get some wonton wrappers (I found mine in the frozen section of the Chinese grocery store) - these thaw quickly and are doughy shavings that fry up very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeremy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
MMMMM, this was soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tlove
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I've made this several times now, and I think i've got it down...my version is NOT vegan as I prefer to add a beaten egg at the end...I always add some bamboo shoots which I cut into strips, and the tofu I use is already cubed...I leave out some of the more exotic ingredients (no tiger lily buds or bamboo fungus) but I include everything else...this is a really yummy, cold weather type soup that I will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
It tastes just like the restaurant version and the lady at the Asian market who assisted me told me this recipe is very traditional. The bamboo fungus is a MUST in this recipe and so is the white pepper. It does make all the difference. The bamboo fungus can be found in the dried mushroom section of the Asian market, because it's really a type of mushroom. You can find all the ingredients for this recipe at your local Asian Pacific market with assistance from those that work there. Will become a staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Excellent recipe... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grumblebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Best hot and sour recipe I've found yet! Might have been my broth, but I found 3 tbs of soy sauce to be 1 too many. Everything else was perfect. I think the white pepper is very important, so would not recommend leaving that out. Add sliced scallions before serving. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Loved this soup! Hot & Sour is one of my favorites. I couldn't find the various dried mushrooms & fungus listed, so I used dried porcini mushrooms and dried white mushrooms along with half a bag (5 oz) of frozen shitake mushrooms. The mushroom broth was very tasty. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I couldn't find dried mushrooms (of any kind), lily buds, chili oil, or bamboo fungus at our local grocery store. So I substituted baby bella mushrooms and had to just leave out the rest since I don't even know what they are similar to. Despite not being able to find a good portion of the ingredients this turned out very well. My husband (who I was looking at this for) really loved it and wanted me to make it more often. Next time I make it I will use low sodium soy sauce and if that works I'll try to cut back on it the following time too...the sodium content in this soup (and every hot and sour soup recipe I've looked at so far) is too high for everyday consumption. I noticed that the non-vegan recipes for this soup include pork...the Chinese restaurants I've been to do not include pork in their hot and sour soup (at least not as far as I can tell). So I was very glad to find a vegan alternative to the norm that is more like what we are use to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States